We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for kiteboarding”
Review of Watermen's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watermen's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Just finished a week at Waterman's . It's our 4th trip up there. For kiteboarding it can not be beat.
Rey

The rooms themselves are new and very comfortable. TV 's in every room. Kitchen well stocked.

Not much else to do on island except hanging out at beach and watersports.

Great trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSG34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

We are glad you had a good time! It is our number one priority to ensure that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay! With the addition of Watermen's Bar & Grill we hope to keep adding to the experience. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Watermen's Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

What a wonderful place! We loved calling it home for our week on the OBX! The place was immaculate and comfortable and the people were the best! We didn't do any kiting but we thoroughly enjoyed watching them from our deck that looked out over the sound. We stayed in the unit called Downwinder. Awesome sunsets! Now that we are back home, we daydream about Watermens Retreat and the unforgettable time we had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay at Watermen's Retreat! Please come back and see us again. We have great deals for September & October and the weather is absolutley beautiful. Give us a call and we will set you up!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I loved staying at Watermen's retreat Fall 2012 - my husband has been there in the past as well with kiting buddies. I'm a beginner kiter, and this was the perfect place to combine great comfort with excellent kiting. My husband loves Hatteras because he can go kite ocean side, and I can learn on the sound side. We stayed a week and loved having a full kitchen so we could cook healthy and not have to go out too much. Since it was off-season for Hatteras (but full-on season for kiters) we got a great deal for our stay. The little cafe/restaurant located there was really nice - a little limited and on the pricier side, but perfect when you could get half-price fish tacos after a long day on the water. Hatteras is an almost annual trip for my husband, and by staying at Watermen's, I definitely don't mind making it a regular vacation spot.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get the sound view!! Watching the sunsets every night on our balcony was tota...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Kerri,
We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Cape Hatteras, REAL Watersports and Watermen's Retreat. You need to head back this way again this season... new Watermen's Bar & Grill is on site... great full service menu (yes they have expanded and will have a large indoor seating area), plus daily specials, wine and beer and a new rum bar that will add to everyone's enjoyment! ~ donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I decided to treat my sister and my niece to a Spring Break 2013 vacation on the NC Outer Banks. Conducting research, I ran across the Web page for Watermen's Retreat in Waves, NC. I was encouraged by the positive reviews that I read on TripAdvisor. I booked a condo. OMG, what a wonderful experience! Donna Peele impressed us with her hospitality from our first encounter to our last. When my sister opened the door to our condo (Chimi House) for the first time, she stopped in her tracks with her hand over her mouth to muffle her gleeful scream. That was the second sign that I had chosen wisely. By the time that we had settled in, all doubt had been removed. First class accommodations. First class service. Beautiful waterfront view of Pamlico Sound. Convenient location on the Outer Banks. What more could we ask? Kudos to the staff. Thanks, Donna!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Ty, We loved having you, your sister and niece at Watermen's Retreat. Don't wait another 25 years to visit again! ~ donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for about one week in early April. It was a last minute trip and the team at Real (Amy and Donna) were able to fit us in for a midweek stay (Thursday to Wednesday). Accommodations were top notch and the staff are super friendly and helpful. We stayed in S-Turns which gives you a great view of the sunrise, but I would suggest trying to get the Sound side units for the sunset view. Only thing I would have liked to have during this somewhat colder time of the year is access to a hot tub to warm up after a kiting session. Other than this I would highly recommend staying at Watermans.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We traveled over Thanksgiving, after Sandy destoried the roads. Accomodations were fantastic and Donna went out of her way to make us feel welcome.


Kiteboarding lessons were top notch as well. Would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaterinaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

I am glad you were able to make this trip and that you and your family enjoyed Watermen’s Retreat and the kiteboarding lessons at REAL Watersports.
Watermen’s is committed to making every client’s experience the best possible. Hurricane Sandy did cause some damage to the highway but we are looking for the road to be restored in the next couple of weeks and then the ferry will not be necessary. Currently they are allowing 4x4 vehicles to drive over the rough spots and they do have folks that will carry your car over the ½ mile and you can avoid the ferry ride all together.
We have some great travel packages available for the spring and we look forward to you visiting us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I can only repeat what everyone else has said, it is a great location and the staff were excellant. It does fell like THE premier kiting location in the US if not the world. The rooms were very clean and modern. It does not have the usual hotel imenitites such as pool or hot tub which was not what we were looking for and were not needed as we enjoyed the ocean beach. It is very centered on kiting and the school seems professional although we did not take lessons. Donna who runs the lodging operations is the best! We have viewed all the REAL kiting videos and it was fun to meet Matt Nuzzo in person, sort of the local celebrity. Kiting suggestions are take booties, just an occational shell or two and a big kite, we had low wind in October. Of course it is kiting and wind dependent. Even though the wind was a little off, we had lots to do and watch at the site and Haterass is beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kbrossel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waves
24.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
21.0 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
21.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
52 reviews
27.1 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#7 of 11 in Hatteras Island
134 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermen's Retreat

Address: 25682 Highway 12, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waves
Price Range: £147 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watermen's Retreat is designed with three living floors, all with breathtaking views of the Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean. The first floor consists of six 1,000 sq ft, 2 bedroom/1.5 Bathroom units. The 2nd and 3rd floors have larger spaces with four 1,500 sq ft 3 bedroom/2.5 Bathroom units on each floor. Whether you choose "Waterfront" or "Waterview," you will be treated to plenty of Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean views and the best sunrises and sunsets on the planet! All Watermen's Retreat Condominiums feature: Teak Floors, Tile Bathrooms, Carpet Bedroom (all new), 2 or 3 Bedrooms, all with king and queen sized beds. Full Kitchen with Granite Cocktail Bar, Great Room with Leather Furniture and Waterviews, Flat Screen TVs, DVD, CD and MP3 Stereo, Wireless Internet, Waterfront and/or Waterview Decks, Gear Storage, Covered Parking and Elevator. Watermen's Hideout has been added in 2015. This two bedroom cottage is waterfront and pet friendly. We are within a very short walk to REAL Watersports and Watermen's Bar & Grill. We do partial weekly rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing