We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need an extra star”
Review of Watermen's Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waves
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watermen's Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This place is the best. The condos (especially those that face the ocean) are perfectly set up with an awesome view. The management could not be more accomodating (no pun intended). The whole set up at Real is fantastic - warm, family friendly and fun.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank rpknightny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2014

So glad you had a great time! Would love to see you again. We have some great fall specials~ plenty of great weather, wind and surf left in the year! Give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

My brother and I stayed in Avon pier for the first time the weekend after the Triple-S. The goal was to stay near Real Watersports in order to partake in some kiteboarding lessons. Waterman's Retreat was a pleasure for both of us. Since we both travel for a living, Waterman's was a great update to the hotels that we're used to. The decor and amenities were top notch. Additionally, I enjoyed living off my room card during the stay our stay, being able to pay for food and drink without ever having to think about a wallet. I would highly recommend Waterman's Retreat to anyone visiting Hatteras.

Room Tip: Minimum 4 night reservation required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, General Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Super excited that you enjoyed your visit to Watermen's Retreat! We love to make things easy for our clients. We will be having some great specials so you may want to think about a return trip this fall for some great kiting and surfing!

We hope to see you again.... soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I've stayed at Watermen's twice and this most recent time extended to 8 nights. Had a wonderful time staying in the three bedroom Planet room. Great service from Donna and her staff. I'm a huge fan and will be back. That it's next door to Real Watersports (the best kiteboarding spot in the US) makes Watermen's a must. Huge fan!

Room Tip: Views towards the water are killer! Pay up for them!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Charlie,
Thank you for your comments... c'mon back! Things are just getting started for the summer. We have lots of SW wind in store for great kiting and probably some good swell for some surf too. SLICKstock in August will be quite the music event including Hall of Famer, Mix Master Mike of the Beastie Boys. This will be happening August 11 - 15th. Make your plans now... give us a call!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I've now stayed here multiple times, and have never had a less the great experience. The condos are part of Teal Watersports, and as such integrate seamlessly. If you don't want to bring all your gear, Real offers unlimited demos of the latest stuff for very reasonable prices.

While there is of course no room service, the bar and cage attached to the Real complex offer some of the better food around and great drink choices.

The apartments themselves are very comfortable, with free hs wifi, very well equipped kitchen and great living areas and bedrooms.

As an added bonus, while staying here, you can launch from the Real launch zone, which is very well set up.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sportznoshr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Super excited that you had a great experience and we LOVE the fact that you keep coming back! You are right... restaurant, music, lessons, launching, retail therapy, great accommodations, ALL in one place... it doesn't get any better than this!

See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Been to Real before but never saw the rooms. They are VERY nice, well appointed kitchen, big TV and DVD etc…. 3 nice bedrooms (but none of them had two beds in them). Daily housekeeping is not included.

We made late reservations and were not on the sound side but you can always go down to the REAL deck and sit out there (but not with your own alcohol).

Everyone is super nice and the restaurant here is the best around. Had to think of reasons to go anywhere else for our meals.

If you will be kiting in Waves or taking lessons at REAL, you want to be staying here if you can afford it.

Room Tip: Top floor sound side would probably be super nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkfromMaine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Super stoked that you enjoyed Watermen's Retreat, REAL and Watermen's Bar & Grill. We have a busy summer lined up with different events and live music on the back deck at least a couple of times a week. Would love to see you head back this way!! Give me a call and we will try to get you in on the water side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

First time to NC Waves to go kiteboarding....had always read and heard about the area. It was amazing. Booked 4 nights at Watermens Retreat and it was perfect. the location can not be beat for all of the kiteboarding action...RIGHT THERE! Defenitley would recommend getting a bayside unit if you can...just hanging out watching all the action over at the REAL launch area is great...even if you don't kite. not much to say about the units because it was awesome, Clean, spacious, easy. I was originally concerned that it would be noisy being right next to REAL but not at all. quiet hours after 10pm. everyone was very friendly and nice!!

REAL Watersports is amazing. Booked 3 days of private lessons. that is the ONLY way to learn to kite!!...if you are serious and really want to maximize your time there do the private. although it was very strenuous being out on water all day I made huge improvements. If you do the multi day lessons consider taking a day off in-between and getting your strength back( im 49 and in good shape)...relax at beach or do a SUP . REAL facility is amazing....any type of Kite product you can want is there to buy, demo or use during your lessons. The best thing is that everyone was so friendly...The coach that I had (Brenden) was great. Patient and knowledgeable. The weather was great except one day of no wind....but we went sight seeing instead. We ate almost all of our dinner meals at the Watermen's Bar and Grill.( we did breakfast and lunches in our condo, brought food with us)....best food in area by far and it was awesome to eat on the deck overlooking the REAL kite launch area.....lots of action and fun people.

Don't hesitate to come...it wasn't the cheapest but you get EVERYTHING THAT YOU PAY FOR.!!

Awesome facility, great people with skills and knowledge. and great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We love clients that are excited about being here!! So glad you enjoyed your stay at Watermen's and also the kite lessons. It is hard to beat the back deck... relaxing and enjoying the wonderful sunsets this time of the year. We are now fully into the season, with live music several nights a week, dinner and drink specials, plus serving up satisfied clients!! Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I planned this trip so my son could attend the kite boarding camp at Real and stayed at Watermen's for convenience. However, I would never stay anywhere else as the condo we stayed in was perfect. Every amenity was thought of, it was like a second home. We had a beautiful water view, plenty of space and just walk down the stairs for great food or great kiting. The weather was not as warm as I hoped but, that didn't stop the kiting and I still spent a lot of time outside. The folks that work here are a first class act I would recommend this spot to anyone looking for activity or relaxation in the OBX.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P, Manager at Watermen's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope you come back and see us! The spring is warming up and we ready for fun in the sun!

REAL is making new riders every day and for all ages.

Music on the back deck at Watermen's Bar & Grill will start in a few weeks and in the mean time we do have selected nights with indoor music.

Our shoulder rates are in effect until April 14th and then will begin again in October, so now is the time to plan that fall trip!!

Take care and thank you for staying with us at Watermen's Retreat!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waves
24.6 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
21.0 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
21.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Oasis Suites Hotel
Oasis Suites Hotel
#2 of 13 in Nags Head
385 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
312 reviews
20.9 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#6 of 6 in Buxton
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermen's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermen's Retreat

Address: 25682 Highway 12, Waves, Hatteras Island, NC 27982
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island > Waves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waves
Price Range: £150 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watermen's Retreat is designed with three living floors, all with breathtaking views of the Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean. The first floor consists of six 1,000 sq ft, 2 bedroom/1.5 Bathroom units. The 2nd and 3rd floors have larger spaces with four 1,500 sq ft 3 bedroom/2.5 Bathroom units on each floor. Whether you choose "Waterfront" or "Waterview," you will be treated to plenty of Pamlico Sound and Atlantic Ocean views and the best sunrises and sunsets on the planet! All Watermen's Retreat Condominiums feature: Teak Floors, Tile Bathrooms, Carpet Bedroom (all new), 2 or 3 Bedrooms, all with king and queen sized beds. Full Kitchen with Granite Cocktail Bar, Great Room with Leather Furniture and Waterviews, Flat Screen TVs, DVD, CD and MP3 Stereo, Wireless Internet, Waterfront and/or Waterview Decks, Gear Storage, Covered Parking and Elevator. Watermen's Hideout has been added in 2015. This two bedroom cottage is waterfront and pet friendly. We are within a very short walk to REAL Watersports and Watermen's Bar & Grill. We do partial weekly rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing