We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Facinating for people of all ages.”

JAARS Museum of the Alphabet
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Waxhaw
Attraction details
Waxhaw
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Facinating for people of all ages.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We made an appointment for a guided tour by a very knowledgeable volunteer a day ahead of time through their website. I let them know ahead of time that we were bringing our mature, well behaved and attentive gifted grandchildren, ages 6 and 8, with us. There is much attentive listening to do at this facinating museum but I am happy we went and will return again and again as we found it informative as well as facinating. The children reported to their teachers that they learned about how alphabets have been created for places that didn't have a written language.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaxhawGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bringing the Bible to the Nations”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Small, but, very interesting museum dedicated to some of the first missionaries to many countries. Home of the International Bible Translation league. Young kids will probably be bored.

Helpful?
Thank americantraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fascinating what you can learn about the Bible and about airplanes”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Their need for small planes ... and the safety to operate them lends itself to their ingenuity... their "safety Seat" is incredible... all small planes should have them installed.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bmwbillk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weddington, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mexico influence”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were shocked to learn how many different languages are being translated at Jaars... and that the Mexican government had such an influence on the Museum... but above all, being a lover of languages, I'm impressed that the Alphabet museum can contribute to one's learning and love of the printed and spoken word. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank rokkij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Union County, NC”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

South of Charlotte, near Waxhaw in rural Union County, is a hidden gem that is worth searching out. This free museum features colorful, interesting displays that detail the progress of written communication throughout history. Scattered throughout the rooms are interactive displays that will capture the attention of school age kids as well as adults. It's a good place for home schooling families. You can breeze through in 30 minutes, but to "see it all" you could easily spend a full day or more. On week days lunch is available for purchase across the street at the JAARS Center. (Large groups need to make reservations.)
I became familiar with this museum when I served on staff with JAARS. Now retired, I still take friends to visit when they are in the area.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank savvyseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JAARS Museum of the Alphabet also viewed

 

Been to JAARS Museum of the Alphabet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing