We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing - great little museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JAARS Museum of the Alphabet

JAARS Museum of the Alphabet
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Waxhaw
Attraction details
Dayton, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing - great little museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Wow...incredible amount of information in a small space. And very well laid out with wonderful displays. Very worth the time

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pngbushmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Interesting for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is so educational, it is amazing that this museum in our area -- use a guide through the museum, they are very knowledgeable; great field trip for Missionaries, home schoolers, and families.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Learning experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Our missionary aviation group, Compass Aviation, visited as a group. It was a beautiful day and we went through the JAARS Museum of the Alphabet. There were lots of photos on the walls, interactive exhibits and people stationed at different locations to answer any questions. It was a very informative time. We enjoyed our visit and took lots of pictures.

Helpful?
Thank weddingmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Facinating for people of all ages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We made an appointment for a guided tour by a very knowledgeable volunteer a day ahead of time through their website. I let them know ahead of time that we were bringing our mature, well behaved and attentive gifted grandchildren, ages 6 and 8, with us. There is much attentive listening to do at this facinating museum but I am happy we went and will return again and again as we found it informative as well as facinating. The children reported to their teachers that they learned about how alphabets have been created for places that didn't have a written language.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaxhawGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bringing the Bible to the Nations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Small, but, very interesting museum dedicated to some of the first missionaries to many countries. Home of the International Bible Translation league. Young kids will probably be bored.

Helpful?
Thank americantraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JAARS Museum of the Alphabet also viewed

 

Been to JAARS Museum of the Alphabet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing