We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible amount of information available”

JAARS Museum of the Alphabet
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Waxhaw
Attraction details
Monroe, NC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Incredible amount of information available”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I am a local who visited the JAARS museums (this one and the Mexico Cardenas Museum next door) for the first time today with my 9 year old son. The Alphabet Museum is incredibly detailed. There is so much to look at that I was somewhat overwhelmed- but in a good way. I really enjoyed the Mexico museum too. This is a good (and free) place to visit and both museums are worthwhile. They also give tours of the JAARS area during the weekdays starting at the Townsend Building across the street but we were there on a Saturday so we didn't get to do this. I think there is a cafeteria that is open during the week too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tarheelluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Alpha Beta Gama Delta...in amazing steps”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Not only Alpha and Beta but a lot of informations about the History of the writen word by the Humanity. This museum is a amazing culture center. In Brazil I never know about it until to be in Waxhaw for a visit to our american friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amaro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Very interesting, worth side trip”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was an excellent museum. We had only allowed an hour which was not enough time! It was definitely worth a side trip to see. As others have noted, the museums does a geat job presenting information in a way that all ages can appreciate.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank USALoveTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Worth seeing this one!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A real gem. One-of-a-kind museum will enthrall museum-lovers and anyone interested in the history of written language. The displays are phenomenal, the presentation very layered, from bold easy-to-understand overviews to highly detailed content about the development of specific families of alphabets. There is something for the casual tourist with only short time to browse but the professional linguist will be impressed as well. One could easily spend a day or two in this small building trying to absorb all of the content.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volga, South Dakota
1 review
“Learn Something!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

You could walk into this little museum knowing basically nothing about the world's writing systems and their history and walk out with a ton of new knowledge. There's no admission fee (amazing!), so you can just walk in and follow the history of written language from it's beginnings to today. If you are a scholar and want to truly learn all there is to, I would recommend spending a day in here. Get halfway through, take a break for lunch, then finish the second half. My husband and I went in for the afternoon and regretted not giving ourselves more time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed JAARS Museum of the Alphabet also viewed

 

Been to JAARS Museum of the Alphabet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing