We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai in western NC?”
Review of Thai Spice - CLOSED

Thai Spice
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thai in western NC?”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

While people dont usually come to WNC and think Thai food, Thai Spice is a great choice when you tired of ribs and generic American food. The portions were generous, the ingredients fresh, and the "hot factor" was as ordered. While we have lived in Waynesville for 2 years we have never come in for a meal, we don't eat out much by choice. So to have a local resturant whose menu has items for meat, seafood and vegetarian lovers alike was great. The owner and wait staff were friendly and informative. We will definitely be back and share with friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JudithAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    55
    21
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really trying hard”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

While it wasn't the best I ever ate the food was good when you need a Thai food fix. I had eggplant with tofu which was good and my husband had ginger pork - he really liked his meal as well as the Thai ice tea. Owner and wife really trying hard to make you feel welcome.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank henmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were reluctant at first to try this restaurant. the Trip advisor reviews were mixed and stated they had a service problem. However, things do turn out for the best. We had planned to go to Saki Sushi restaurant in Waynesville but as many have indicated, their service hours are hit and miss and they were closed this Wednesday night. We opted for Thai Spice and ended up with a great meal, great service and great value. The owner came by to was very good and also commented on the fact we were reluctant to go there based on the Trip Advisor reviews. wards the end of our meal and asked if everything was good. We stated that it was wonderful but also told him about our reluctance due to the TA reviews. He stated that he was grateful for the reviews and that it had helped him change his service for the good. He also invited us to go back and view his kitchen operation of which he was very proud. Bottom line, this is a very good Thai restaurant and well worth a visit. Good job Trip Advisor reporters and great job by the owners/management in recognizing faults, correcting and offering a excellent dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No flavor but the owner was on top of it!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We have been fans of this place since it opened. They have a new owner and a new chef. We were not happy with our food but the owner resolved everything and even brought out the chef to hear what we had to say. That's customer service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peach909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stopped to pick up carry out food and ordered pad Thai to go. It was very good and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was ordered off the lunch menu, but it was such a large portion we ate it for 2 nights. Don't listen to the negative reviews, go and enjoy fresh Thai food at a reasonable price

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Spice also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing