We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub Dining”

Tipping Point Tavern
Ranked #18 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pub Dining”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

While visiting Waynesville we stumbled upon this Pub for lunch. They house brew 4 types of beers have a very large assortment of beers to chose from, I had the pumpkin draft beer in celebration of October. As for food it was decent lunch pub styled food. I had the roasted turkey bacon Swiss on grilled sourdough bread, I'd order it again. My husband had a salad and chicken wings, he enjoyed but said might try something else next visit. The decorum was relaxing many eye catching things to look at. All in all it was a good experience give them a try when in Waynesville.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJW1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    95
    43
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere, good pub food”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A really good brew pub with a fun atmosphere and good service. Be sure to try the house-brewed beers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Lively place with Good Beer”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is a great place for a guy by himself to sit at the bar, order dinner and a beer and enjoy a game. They have a good selection of local beers on tap and good value

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better for Lunch”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Tipping Point Tavern was a fun place to visit. Their in-house brews are quite good. We tried both the “Hiking Viking” (my high school mascot was a Viking) and the “Chunky Girl Amber.” They also have an IPA called “Punch in the Face IPA.” We found the brews quite hoppy, so we can imagine what the IPA must be. Next time…

We had both a lunch and a dinner at Tipping Point Tavern. Lunch was quite enjoyable. The food was quite good – can’t say “great” with regard to sandwiches and beer, but very good. We started with the beer-battered jalapeno poppers which were hot from the fryer and had very good flavor. I had the Tavern Reuben and really enjoyed it. Jim had Fish Tacos. I must say, you really shouldn’t be leaving Tipping Point hungry! They don’t skimp on portions!

Dinner was something of a different story. This is why I marked only "Average." Yes, the portions were huge (especially the Pulled Pork Burrito)! What was really off-putting was the noise level. We were there on a Wednesday night, so we didn’t expect the crush of people or the noise. Obviously, this is the place for the younger crowd to meet for drinks after work. If we’d been there just for a beer or cocktails (and had been several years younger), we probably would have had a wonderful time. For dinner, well it was rather hard to enjoy ourselves. If you go, it’s probably wise to stick to lunch, or go for their terrific beer and after-work party.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“OKAY”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Tipping Point is right in the middle of downtown and has outdoor seating for some excellent people watching. The bar has a cheerful and British ambiance about it.
The place is very clean and the bathroom was spotless (which usually means the kitchen is too).
We both got the fish n chips with fries and slaw along with some tasty cold micro brew.
The fish was almost burnt but being hungry and in a hurry we went ahead and wolfed it down and finished it off with some good beer.
Our server was very polite and personable and she told us about several other nearby restaurants we might want to visit during our stay.
We plan on returning next week and give it another try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tipping Point Tavern also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Tipping Point Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing