We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the World!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top of the World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

What can one say about the Pisgah Inn? What's Not right about it? From the wonderful views to the aromas from the restaurant, there is no way one could go wrong when they spend a few days at the Inn. We have been there three times now and have our reservations for Autumn. No way will we miss the last days of October at the Inn. The rooms are quite comfortable with the amenities that most would enjoy in any hotel. The real joy of the inn are the views and the restaurant. Every room has wonderful vistas of the mountains and even the restaurant has glass windows that allow you to dine while enjoying the changing landscape. The meals that come from the kitchen are fantastic and earn five stars in our view. The staff at the Inn are also five star. They do everything in their power to make you enjoy your stay. From the restaurant staff to the management to those who care for your rooms, they are all top notch and fantastic. If it's a relaxing time you are looking for, this is certainly the place. We hope that Bruce and his staff remain at the Inn for many years to come for we plan to make it there as often as possible. It's something everyone should have the chance to experience.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a bad room at the Inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_martin62_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    139
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
102
304
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

the view from every room in this hotel is Amazing!!! Free Breakfast each morning is new since the last time we stayed and it was very good and the view from the restaurant is outstanding. Hotel has no A/C but with the windows open at night the room stays cool, Wifi was weak but other than that it could not be more perfect. I recommend the treetops wing, I think it is the newest and has been recently renovated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dond0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
94 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Mt Pisgah Inn before camping across the street. We found the service cheerful and helpful. The view is absolutely stunning. The rooms were nice but not spectacular, but it kind of added to the rustic feel. I think the Pisgah Inn is a great value and a nice comfortable stay on the Blue Ridge Parkway. There are not many places where you can rock in your rocking chair on your porch and see such an amazing view. Waking up to the view is equally wonderful. This is a place we will certainly return to again one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I have stayed at the Pisgah Inn numerous times over the years and truly enjoy it. Sitting on the balcony and enjoying the crisp clean mountain air and quiet is the reason to come here.

Normally it is very quiret and relaxing. Not so this visit. What appeard to be two families traveling with children (11-12 year age range) checked in to the room beside and below us. The adults were as lound as the kids, carrying on conversations over the railing to the room below. The boys also decided it would be a good idea to bounce a basketball for a while.

The only issue I have is that I reserved a king bed on line but was given a room with two double beds. I received my confirmation email but their system only indicates the category of the room using a code so the customer has no idea from the confirmation email what is in their system. This was a lesson learned, after reserving on line call to verify that the reservation system actually reserves what you want. This was not a big problem and the manager did take some off of the bill for the inconvenience and the noise from the families. This was not necessary but appreciated.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are usally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJL_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boconn, Owner at Pisgah Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your review. No one can argue that our location is prime. And I guess you could say it is "about the view." That being said, I want you to know that we try to operate as if there was "no view." We try to be good at what we do regardless of the fantastic view. That is how we all think up here. So, yes the view is great, but we are not using that as an excuse to give you less than a excellent experience up here. Our vision is to give every guest and employee a positive memory or experience up here. I hope we did that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was an amazing spot to eat and rest along the lower end of the Blue Ridge Parkway. We spent the day in the Smokies and enjoyed the Parkway drive to a nice room and a great meal. Fried green tomatoes, nice salads, local trout and other regional tastes. Very reasonable room with individual balconies looking out over the mountains and full breakfast in the morning. Gas stations are not close so fill the tank before you start the drive.

Room Tip: Second floor is a lot of steps to lug your luggage but you sleep in the trees! All rooms have a mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptaker644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipley, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I will agree with another reviewer that the cancellation policies are crazy, but it is the same at the other Park property, Peaks of Otter Logde. Don't let that detail steer you away from a wonderful experience. This is an older property, but has been nicely updated and renovated. Our room had new furniture, an updated bath and new carpet. The room was spotless. We had a spacious second floor room with a king bed, coffeemaker and fridge. The balcony was definitely the best part, with spectacular views of the mountain ranges. The railings are done with wire, so no obstructions! New wood rocking chairs and table on the balcony makes it really comfortable. TV had a huge selection of channels, but why watch when you can enjoy the mountains? A small rainstorm came through which left fog settling in the valleys between the mountains. Beautiful!

The view of the mountains in the restaurant is wonderful, floor to celing windows. In order to get a table on the "front row", you need to be there right when they open. However, all tables have a nice view. The food is equally as good. Lots of selection on the menu, except for vegetarian meals, and no vegan choices. I had the vegetarian penne dish with garlic/wine sauce (lots of garlic) and it was wonderful. Husband had the pork chop and was equally as good. Fried green tomatos are a good appetizer choice, and dinner salads are tasty with dried cranberries and sunflower seeds. Service is excellent, waitstaff very friendly. Our only complaint is that the food came too fast. Salad was served first - before the appetizer? - and we had time for two bites before the appetizer came. Only 5 minutes later our entree arrived. The timing could have been much better, which left us feeling like we should have waited until after eating the appetizer to order dinner. Portions are large, so no room for dessert, although they looked delicious. The breakfast selections that are included in the room rate are very limited, and they do not allow for any substitutions. Eggs are offered scrambled ONLY and come with a meat choice, and a choice of potatos or grits. Since I am vegetarian, I asked for the potatos and grits, since I was not going to order a meat. I was told NO SUBSTITUTIONS! A little strict for me. I would have liked to see an omelet as a choice. Ordering from the regular menu is an option, but you would be paying full price. That said, the meal was very good. Order the rye bread (toast), it is fantastic.

Room Tip: If stairs are not a problem, ask for a room on the second floor - views are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle56Chipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boconn, Owner at Pisgah Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
We are listening. The "no substitutions" rule is GONE. Thanks for the valuable input. Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had lunch here on Saturday of Memorial Day weekend. It's a place we have stopped at many times to use the bathroom while riding the Blue Ridge Parkway, but the wait has always been too long to eat there. This day we arrived a little after the lunch crowd and after a 10 minute wait, we were seated facing the view. The service was great, we were pleased by the menu choices and decided to split a salad and the pork bbq platter. The food came quickly and it was delicious and the right amount for sharing. Several tables around us were having dessert and it looked fabulous, but we were too full. After lunch, we walked out on the deck and around the property enjoying the beautiful view. We will definitely stop in for another meal next time we are on the Parkway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TEFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
15.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
14.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
15.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Grand Bohemian Hotel Asheville, Autograph Collection
19.2 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#12 of 63 in Asheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
14.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Property: Pisgah Inn
Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing