We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Pisgah Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pisgah Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a must stop on the Blue Ridge Parkway, Milepost 408. If you are not staying you have to have lunch or dinner in the dinning room.

Rooms didn't have airconditioning but the breeze at this altitude was great sleeping

Each room overlooks the mountains.
We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Food was very good

Beds were very comfortable as well as the pillows

Room Tip: book a room on the second floor and ask for one that has full windows not just the small double hung
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    141
    26
    15
    11
See reviews for
108
329
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is such a nice place to stay. We have be coming here for a mothers day present. Both of us love the mountains. You will never find a place like this on the parkway. For us it creates memories every time we come. I hope this can stay with the family that has had it for the last 30 years instead going to a corporation. Thanks for all the memories.

Room Tip: Away from ice makers and stairs will make it a little more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We've been coming here for years. It's still terrific. Rooms look like they've been recently updated. The staff is outstanding. The restaurant has great food and the waitstaff offer excellent service. There was zero visibility this past weekend and quite rainy. The wifi didn't work too well but I didn't stay there for the wifi. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaDuck83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We almost missed the inn in the near zero visibility rain and fog but even on a rainy day, this place is a shiny beacon. First the staff--the friendliest, most capable we've ever seen and that includes 23 sea cruises, 2ndly the food--trout to die for and the blackberry cobbler ala mode curled our toes, and not least, the clean well appointed room and super comfy bed. Certainly off the beaten path, this "road less taken" to the Pisgah Inn is well worth it.

Room Tip: Best views from the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunstate941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely LOVE this fabulous hotel & restaurant!!! Spotlessly clean, amazing views, terrific service and some of the most delicious well priced food on the planet. What is not to like?!! Will return as soon as humanly possible & just hope the rest of you out there haven't booked the Pisgah Suite because I plan to reserve it again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowboymomhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have been traveling the Blue Ridge Parkway for over 30 years on almost an annual basis. Most trips are 7-10 days end-to-end, and we always make Pisgah Inn our end "base of operations" before heading back north. It is not a luxury resort so newcomers should not be expecting it to be so. But it is always clean and comfortable, and the folks are always warm and friendly. The restaurant is the best of all parkway accommodations along the entire length (the fried green tomatoes, whether basic or their specialty, are delectable!!) Recent renovations of one of the buildings are quite nice, and it would be nice if the other buildings could be done as well. We've been here for family travel, for just quick getaways, and to make for special family/friend reunions … we've been here through all types of weather … and we've been here when it's been unbelievably quiet and when it's been quite busy! But we've never been disappointed, and often we've been blessed with fun things like wild storms followed by incredible rainbows, bear sightings, skunk families, and fog so thick you couldn't see more than a few feet in front of you! We consider it all part of the adventure, and will continue to stay here as long as the Inn remains operational. Scuttlebutt says that there is concern over contract renewal … the Parkway has already lost so many of its "landmark" places to eat and to stay over the past few years, and it would be beyond sad to think we could lose Pisgah Inn as well. It is a wonderful place to relax and to renew one's spirit … so many stories over the years!!

Room Tip: The Tree Tops building has recently been renovated and are a little nicer than the other building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

OK, I'd like to live here. If they'd give me a job at the hotel desk, in the restaurant or in the gift shop, I'd be a happy man. My wife and I both agreed we'd like to come back sometime when we could spend more than one night, and just relax for a while. The kind of place you should just enjoy and not plan on doing anything else than just sitting on the balcony or in the restaurant enjoying the amazing views. It's older so if you're looking for fancy then you'll be disappointed, but it was everything we needed. Oh, and bring a jacket! We were there July 3rd and it was COLD!

Room Tip: I'd reserve an upstairs room. It looked to me like the views would not be as good from a downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmansf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
15.3 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
14.5 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
16.7 mi away
The Residences at Biltmore
The Residences at Biltmore
#23 of 65 in Asheville
1,167 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Omni Grove Park Inn
The Omni Grove Park Inn
#11 of 65 in Asheville
5,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pisgah Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pisgah Inn

Property: Pisgah Inn
Address: Milepost 408.6, Blue Ridge Pkwy., Waynesville, NC 28786
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
Pisgah Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing