We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Kill A Mockingbird”

Haywood Arts Regional Theater
Ranked #6 of 35 things to do in Waynesville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The regions award winning Semi-professional community theater presenting a year round schedule of plays and musicals. The HART Main Stage season runs from late April through November. A CHRISTMAS CAROL is presented each December. January through March activities move to the intimate Feichter Studio Theater which presents a different production every two weeks. Productions range from classics, to major musicals to the latest dramas. Founded in 1984 HART's home, the Performing Arts Center at the Shelton House, sits on an eight acre historic site just two blocks from Historic Waynesville's main St.
Waynesville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“To Kill A Mockingbird”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our first time at HART- very impressive theatre. Beautiful on the inside, friendly assistants and every seat is fantastic! Will certainly return. This was an exceptional play and we are glad we attended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maggie Valley, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre-great entertainment”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

For a small community theatre, the scope of the talent is amazing! We have attended several different performances both musicals and non-musical plays. Always done well. My only complaint would be the acoustics are sometimes shaky and the sound system can be unclear

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rentayenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm a snob and I love this theater.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having dabbled in acting in my youth, I was exposed the very best and worst of theater and I'm probably overly critical when I see semi-professional and really over-critical when I see amateur theater. I have never been even close to being really disappointed with any production at this theater.

I come expecting a fine performance and haven't been disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Reasonably priced local theater”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A nice line-up of shows during the season. Comfortable theater and not a bad seat in the house. Located near lots of nice restaurants making dinner and a show really convenient. A second venue is planned to be built right on the premises, which when completed will enable a show to be running all of the time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fabulous small community theater”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Excellent choices of shows, done with mostly local talent. If you are in the area during the summer season, make sure you check out what is playing. You will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haywood Arts Regional Theater also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Haywood Arts Regional Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing