We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for the money”
Review of Duvall's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duvall's
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food for the money”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Step back in time with this throwback diner style establishment. Make sure you come hungry because you get fed some home cooking. The prices are the cheapest around. You have to try one of their made from scratch pies, the pieces are ginormous!

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent diner style place”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I enjoyed eating here, while it is nothing fancy they were friendly and the food was ok. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deltona, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Thought it was 1959”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

An inn keeper suggested DuVall's for a home cooked breakfast.
When I walked in I was immediately greeted by a couple of different workers who had big smiles and appeared to actually like their job. I could sure tell I wasn't in a chain restaurant!
It felt like I was back in 1959. This is an old building with old furniture. However, I did not come to look at the tables and chairs, I came to eat.
I ordered the sausage and gravy on biscuits, home fries and ham.
I had to wait a few minutes while it was cooked but it was well worth it.
Everything was delicious especially the sausage gravy which was thick with chunks of sausage in it.
The staff was very friendly, bathroom was clean and the food was just like grandma fixed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Biggest piece of Pie ever!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nothing fancy here, but you don't eat "fancy". Family owned and very country. The food is like your grandma used to make and the service staff is just like family. Good food and good value. If all you want is good down-home cookin' at a good price and the biggest piece of pie you'll ever get anywhere, be sure to go to DuVall's in Waynesville, NC. We will go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingtomnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good local diner”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nothing fancy, been there forever. Offers the usual diner fare. I have only had breakfast there but it's always been good. The pies in the case look amazing but I have never tried one. They do not take AMEX (almost no one in Waynesville does).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duvall's also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing