We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best atmosphere and hot chocolate in NC!”

Panacea Coffeehouse Cafe & Roastery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
greensboro, nc
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“the best atmosphere and hot chocolate in NC!”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

good place for a light lunch as well. This is a gem in western NC.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank warfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    60
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Food good, servers nice but one little sticking point”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We've been to this coffee and sandwich shop located in Waynesville's historic Frog Level district several times over the last few years. We always enjoy the place, and the people who take your order and bring it to the table couldn't be nicer. The "little" sticking point is that they don't take credit or debit cards. We got caught on this the first time we went and had to run out and find an ATM while the rest of our party began eating. And, every time we go, we see somebody get caught by this. Their reactions range from mild annoyance to leaving in a huff. Apparently several Waynesville restaurant owners started doing this two or three years ago when the recession hit. They felt like paying credit card transaction fees would make the difference between survival and insolvency. I doubt that. I suspect it causes greater losses from people who either leave or who just don't come through the front door to begin with. It's a foolish policy that costs them good will and ultimately money, and it suggests a less than favorable customer-service attitude. It's time to change it, folks. We go back because we have family members who really like it, but you can get the same food for the same price at a place that doesn't mind if you whip out the plastic.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Highly recommend checking out for lunch. Sandwiches and salads were great! Creative options, fresh ingredients, large portions. Coffee was really good too and iced tea of the day was delicious.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4realfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not great, below average”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Dingy, smelly, expensive, slow. Terrible service. We stood in line waiting to order while the cashier did some complicated financial transaction with the people in front to of us.The rest of the staff pointedly ignored us. Smells of burnt coffee from the inhouse roasting. In these days when even Mcdonalds serves gourmet coffee, the bar is raised for specialty coffee shops. Even in Waynesville. Try Smoky Mountain Cafe or Cafe 50.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stout-scarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Coffee at Premium prices, but bus your own table?, come on!”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This Coffeehouse in a remote section of Waynesville called Frog Level has excellent coffee and teas. They roast their own beans which is a unique treat. During lunch, you can find a diverse compliment of sandwiches which are well thought out and prepared. The place is rather laid back and there is a nice little patio section in the back which is quite relaxing. The environment is that of a rehabbed warehouse adjacent to the railroad tracks across the street. This building should be designated a Historical Building if it is not so already.
Their policy of asking customers to clean their own tables after eating is a little over the top; after all you are not paying McDonalds prices. If you overlook this lack of service, I would rate this establishment as excellent.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobbyMiamiBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panacea Coffeehouse Cafe & Roastery also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Panacea Coffeehouse Cafe & Roastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing