We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome environment, great bed, clean house and would certainly stay again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Welcome environment, great bed, clean house and would certainly stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

We traveled to Waynesville for the wedding of our friends. Glen and Jen were so welcoming and we had such a fantastic stay. There were four of us (two couples). We had the Pacific Suite and the Caribbean Room. The breakfasts were yummy, the rooms were spotless and the beds were SO comfortable! On Saturday we all had breakfast and retreated back to our rooms to decide our next steps (a drive to check out the town etc.) but all of us ended up taking a nap! It was such a relaxing and restful atmosphere. We would certainly stay again if we traveled to Waynesville! The town was adorable as well and we had a couple of good meals. Very much enjoyed the Dog Bakery in town so check it out if you are a dog lover :) Certainly visit Glen and Jen, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aostrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
113
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Beautiful B&B in the lovely town of Waynesville. Smokey Mtn. Room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. A sanctuary to rest & re-connect. Bed was comfortable; bathroom well-appointed; jacuzzi nice. Loved the big front porch and gazebo swing. Breakfast big and delicious brought to our room. Innkeepers were very kind & helpful. Loved it here and want to go back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheGo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

A beautifully restored Victorian home on manicured grounds -- a lovely experience! The breakfast was the best I've had in any B&B, with excellent organic coffee, juice, just-baked muffins, granola with fruit and yogurt, frittata with fresh tomato salsa and country ham. The restoration is authentic, with period furniture, colors and fabrics. Absolutely delightful! Sadly, the pool that is featured on the web site is not available for guests, but otherwise the web site is very accurate. We hope to return for a visit this Fall. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRR0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windoverinn, Owner at The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
We really appreciate our guests taking the time to submit reviews for our property, and take their feedback seriously. Although we don't picture or mention the pool on our website (we do have 5 rooms with whirlpool tubs which may be the information the reviewer is recalling), we certainly do understand that once guests arrive and see the pool, they may be disappointed that the pool is not available to them (an explanation is on our Welcome Letter). Put in by previous owners as a family pool, (our grandchildren do enjoy it), it only meets private, residential code guidelines and would require costly renovations to bring it up to public use requirements necessary for guest use.

We hope this information helps, and thank you again to all of our reviewers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Windover has a beautiful old Southern front porch. Wonderful for early mornings or late evenings to sit out with a cup a coffee or a glass of wine and enjoy the gardens on the property. The hosts, owners, are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you. We wanted to tour the Biltmore. They offered to get tickets for us at the AAA price. We were happy to see the savings we had once we saw the ticket prices at the Biltmore. Their tickets had been purchased a year earlier, so we had a considerable savings over the current price. Breakfasts were bountiful and delicious. Be sure to ask the the chocolate chip scones. They are out of this world! We would recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We were in a small room on the third floor. This is an old house, but the air conditioning was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Travel002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Windover Inn for our second time. Unfortunately, we could only stay for one night, as we were on our way home from vacation. The inn didn't disappoint, and was as cozy and inviting as we had remembered. As usual, Glenn and Jen were so welcoming and accommodating and they have created a quiet and tranquil home that makes visitors feel like family from the moment you walk through the door. Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy the large front porch that beckons you to come and "sit a spell" with its rocking chairs and comfortable wicker furniture. We stayed in the Caribbean room this time and it was was very spacious and serene. We will be back again, but next time for more than one night!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC48220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

My husband and I stopped on the way home on a business trip so it was a quick one night stay but the place is wonderful and the inn keepers were so nice and thought of every little detail. The only downside is the website alludes to that it is in walking distance to downtown and it really is not in "walking" distance. But we went downtown to eat and highy recommend the newly opened Frogs Leap restaurant. One of the best meals we have had in a long time!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priscilla009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maysville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

This is a beautiful well maintained home. Glen and Jen are super Inn Keepers and serve your every need. This was our first B&B experience and Glenn and Jen have spoiled us. Our visit was perfect in every way. We were celebrating our anniversary and they even had a welcoming banner on our suite door. The suite was very clean and comfortable complete with turn down service and snacks on the bed. Wonderful pillow top mattress and very nice jacuzzi tub. Breakfast cusine was outstanding and catered to my dietary restrictions completely. Porch and grounds are superb for relaxing after day trips. Inn is very well located for day trips to Ashville, Knoxville, Greenville, Highlands/Cashiers and the mountains. Waynesville is a neat littile town with lots of shops and botiques. Glenn and Jen are the greatest

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgr744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
3.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.9 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#1 of 19 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Old Hickory St, Waynesville, NC 28786-6088
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing