We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfy”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

What a wonderful escape! The entire property was beautiful. I cannot speak enough for the cleanliness! Every single surface throughout our room and the common areas were spotless. Breakfast was delicious and Glenn and Jen (the owners) were so helpful in our planning day trips throughout the region. By the way, stay during the Annual Apple Festival. The town of Waynesville is most charming (as well as convenient to Asheville). I will most definitely return...hopefully sooner than later!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Atlantic Room, but I'm sure are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantcomment62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
117
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Comfortable, clean, reasonable, great breakfast with freshly roasted and ground guatemalian coffee. Friendly owners. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2011

This was a very nice B&B. The room was large (The Atlantic), bed was comfy and the innkeepers were very nice. Fixed us a to go breakfast when we had to leave early the second day. Don't be put off by its proximity to the questionable side of town as you are driving there. It is lovely!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I just returned from an overnight stay at the inn. We will definitely return. We had a wonderful stay. The breakfast was phenomenal and so filling. The room was so quiet, cozy, and romantic. The Inn is beautifully decorated. It exudes warmth. You feel at home from the time you step foot on the splendid front porch. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenville-ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Three of us rented the suite and had a wonderful stay and a splendid breakfast Home is very unique and the area is wonderful to just spend a weekend

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auxano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My daughter and I wanted to see the Biltmore and also go hiking. The Windover Inn is in the perfect location. The Blue Ridge is close, Waynesville is a charming town and the Biltmore is not far away. This is a lovely Inn and the owners make you feel special. There's brewed coffee waiting for you every morning at the Coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar. Homemade cookies, crackers and licorice are always there to temp and spoil you. The Inn is absolutely lovely and decorated with period furnishings. The breakfast is the best you will ever eat and every morning there is something new to look forward to. The Atlantic room was spacious with a comfortable King size bed. I loved the sitting area by the dining room. We played scrabble and cards at the game table. There's a piano for those that play. I would stay again and highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: The Inn has 3 floors. We chose the Atlantic Room on the second floor and we liked it very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My mom and I just returned from a trip to NC and we stayed at the Windover Inn. We stayed in the Atlantic room and loved it. The room was spacious and had a comfortable king sized bed. The house itself is charming. Homemade cookies and crackers downstairs were delicous and we enjoyed the board games downstairs in the common area too. The owners Glenn and Jenn were fabulous and very attentive and helpful. Glenn gave us some excellent maps, directions, and ideas for nearby activities. The breakfast every morning was amazing and more food than we could eat! After noticing how much I enjoyed choc chip cookies Jenn decided to make choc chip scones as a part of breakfast one day. We loved downtown Waynesville and actually preferred it to Asheville. I am so happy we chose the Windover Inn, it was a great place to stay and not too far from Asheville or the Biltmore.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waynesville hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
1.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
421 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Old Hickory St, Waynesville, NC 28786-6088
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing