We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

First impression was that we were in for an excellent stay and we were not disappointed! The grounds and gardens were manicured and the Inn was in extremely well maintained. The attention to detail started when we made our reservation and Jen asked us if we had any special requirements or preferences. We were welcomed with a grand tour of the facilities and a Happy Anniversary banner over our door. Our suite was large and well appointed, and as has been mentioned, the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. We have stayed in many B & B over the years but this is by far the best one! We will stay there again hopefully in the very near future.

Room Tip: The Smokey Mountain Suite is Very roomy and quiet. Has large windows for great view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The attention to detail and perfection that the owner-operators devote to Windover Inn is beyond belief.
We stayed there after arriving from an all-day drive from Washington, D.C. Our every request was accommodated with a smile like Glenn and Jen were old friends.
The gardens are stunning, the rooms are spotless and contain every amenity, the beds are 5-star, the breakfast is haute cuisine, etc., etc.
If this is not the best B & B in the world, it is certainly one of them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellence in all respects! Gardens and grounds are worth the trip. The hosts have not overlooked any detail--every amenity available. Our room was immaculate , comfortable , quiet
and so restful. Glenn and Jen are a great team; Glenn's breakfast creations are not to be missed .Hope to use as base for family reunion in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Everything from the gardens, breakfast, and room was absolute perfection. The inn was immaculate, breakfast was sooooo good. As others have written, Glenn and Jen are so very good at what they do! They made us feel welcome and comfortable and took care of every detail! If we return to the area, we would love to stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank vlzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The innkeepers put up a special banner on the door. Very nice people and helpful with our stay. The room was beautiful and the bed was like sleeping in a cloud. Breakfast was delicious and the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b_arnold1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Above and beyond describes the Windover Inn. From the moment you drive into the driveway you know you are someplace very special. The wrap-around porch, the grounds, the landscape all welcome you with a "Welcome Home" feel. The decor is warm and inviting; Jen and Glenn's hospitality, kindness, thoughtfulness and special touches are above and beyond; the breakfast is delicious and the presentation is beautiful. The rooms are clean, the beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are bright, spacious and very clean. You feel like a VIP, but at the same time, you feel very welcome and every need is met. Jen and Glenn are very helpful with suggestions of things to do, places to see and restaurants to visit in the area (with directions provided). We will definitely plan a return get-away to the Windover. Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is such a quaint little treasure in Waynesville! It's 100 years old and has a lot of history to it. The owners Glen and Jen are so helpful and nice and remember what your preferences are no matter how long your stay is. There's a large front porch with rocking chairs, and 3 stories of different themed rooms. Every room has a jacuzzi and super comfortable beds. There are always snacks and board games downstairs in the living room, and a delicious homemade breakfast is made every morning at 9. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
2.8 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
0.9 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
444 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windover Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Old Hickory St, Waynesville, NC 28786-6088
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: £87 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A casual and elegant historic Victorian meticulously renovated in 2004 with all the amenities to provide a relaxing and romantic get away. The Windover Inn, a local historic landmark, is nestled into a secluded acre of lush gardens just a mile from downtown, historic Waynesville. Each room includes private baths, pillowtop mattresses, air conditioning, ceiling fans, CD alarm clocks, iron and ironing board and cable TV. Five rooms feature two person whirlpools, and five have king size beds. A full homecooked breakfast is included, and can be served to guests in their room in five of our eight guest rooms at no extra charge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing