We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Place Is Special”
Review of Chef's Table

Chef's Table
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Waynesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Weddington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Place Is Special”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful dining experience at the Chef's Table. The staff is experienced,
knowledgeable and a pleasure to deal with. The food is exceptional! We both had the grouper
and rated it amongst the best we have ever had. The homemade strawberry ice cream was
a solid finisher. Nice, diverse selection of appetizers, entrées and wines. We spend time in
Waynesville every summer and will return to the Chef's Table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    87
    26
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Balsam, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Big City Restaurant in a Small Town”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We just enjoyed our first visit to the Chef's Table. This is actually a very unassuming place, with nice decor and ambiance, but certainly not luxurious. We found the serving staff to be extremely kind, attentive, and very knowledgeable about both the menu selections and the truly extensive wine list (nice selection of micro-brewery beers, as well).

The food was excellent, period. My wife thoroughly enjoyed a unique grilled Romaine salad with her entree, and my Louisiana Pasta (Cajun sausage and craw fish tail meat) was rich and delicious. The restaurant offers their own house-made pasta in many unique dishes (including rabbit sausage!). Of course, they also offer a great selection of seafood, chicken, pork, and beef.

We live in the area, and have been to most, if not all, of the restaurants. The Chef's Table has, perhaps, the most unique and technical menu of them all. The wine selection is, outside of a larger city, second to none.

If you want a really fine dining experience in a relaxed/casual atmosphere, then you cannot go wrong with the Chef's Table.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good return visit”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We made reservations 10 days in advance for Saturday night, knowing that the restaurant always is busy, especially on weekends. When we arrived, they were unable to find our reservation but they believed us and worked in a small table that was fine. We expected to wait because we knew from past experience that there always is a long wait, but to have no food at all after one hour did seem a little extreme. We were in no hurry, though, and we could see our server dashing around the whole time, so we knew he was busy. It would have been nice, though, to be able to get water when we sat down. It was quite warm in the restaurant, and we were very thirsty. Finally we were able to get the server's eye and ask for water, which he brought in a few minutes. Then came the order of a bottle of wine, and by the time our food came our wine was almost gone. We ordered one appetizer of fried green tomatoes, completely off our diets but absolutely delicious. They were battered in a way I have never seen elsewhere and had balsamic vinaigrette and goat cheese on top. We could have stopped there, but our dinner order of the chef's special scallops was already under way. It arrived and looked a little disappointing compared to the same plate that had been delivered to the next table about an hour before. The server said that our order was the last one of scallops to go through before they ran out. It was a bit obvious since our scallops were small and somewhat misshapen and we had only 3, but that certainly was enough. The fresh broccoli which had been baked had a bit of a burned taste and was not my favorite, but my husband enjoyed his. The risotto was wonderful, but we controlled ourselves and did not eat it all. All in all we had the experience we had expected, based upon earlier visits and other reviews. We certainly will go back, and next time when I make a reservation I will ask for a name to be sure that it is written down. We applaud the restaurant for believing that we really had made the reservation and working it out for us. Plan for a long dinner. We arrived at 7 and left about 9:45.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingsenior39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We came up to Waynesville with friends to celebrate my 40th birthday with friends. The Chef's Table was highly recommended to us by friends and family who live in the area. The Chef's Table did not disappoint! There were 10 of us in our group and no one was disappointed. The food was delicious! I had the Black and Bleu Gorgonzola Pasta. It was one of the best meals that I have ever had! Others in the group ordered the grouper and scallops. They were delish! The appetizers that we order were the fried green tomatoes and the risotto balls. They were awesome. The service was impeccable. Don't miss this restaurant!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ctet0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
“Would return any time”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

our party liked everything about this place. The service was friendly, the food was great and was impressed that the chef came out to greet us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank BlessedTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef's Table also viewed

Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
Waynesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Chef's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing