We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Swag” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Swag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swag
Ranked #4 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Swag”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spent our 40th anniversary weekend at this magical place. Was even more amazing than website photos and descriptions. The grounds, the staff, and the owners made us feel at home and special the entire weekend. We hiked with our walking stick gifts, enjoyed our picnic lunch with the butterflies, and relaxed with a spectacular mountain view from our room balcony where hummingbirds stopped by to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful;
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    12
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
193
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband surprised me for our 13th anniversary at this lovely inn. I don't know how we had not heard of it, being that it is only a few hours away. We were welcomed to our fantastic cabin with an outdoor fireplace and sauna. There were several pleasant surprises, from the delicious meals provided to the local storyteller after dinner to the lunch packed for us in a backpack. We could easily access nearby wonderful trails, with maps provided. It is a lovely setting high up in the mountains with lots of chairs, hammocks, and even some short trails on the property. The only down side is that it is quite pricey, so this I would rank it as a "special occasion" type of place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdelsavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We made a return trip last month (July, 2013) and it was just as good, if not better, from our last visit several years ago. This is where you go to relax and recharge. It is peaceful and refreshing. Food was once again excellent - don't forget to take your own wine. They are not allowed to sell and it's a long way to a liquor store.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RagtopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
1,071 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Swag has been on my “bucket list” since we first discovered it several years ago. It is a most unique mountain inn in the Western North Carolina Mountains. We have visited The Swag in the past having been there for their fabulous dinner and gourmet lunches on Gooseberry Knob with miles of views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. This year we had the opportunity to stay at The Swag for a wonderful experience. A true Shangri La in the mountains. We love it! A place that reminds us of what is important and how to really appreciate the beauty of these fantastic mountains, the scenic views, and the cooler temperatures. Okay, I am a huge Swag fan and highly recommend it to anyone I chat with who is visiting the western NC mountains for either an overnight stay or at least going for the Wednesday “Gourmet” Picnic or delightful Swag dinner. The Swag is a “bucket list” destination.
What is special about The Swag?
It’s a mountain inn that has five star service but keeps the warm charm of being in a mountain cabin. A lodge suite that often includes an exotic outdoor shower (privacy is utmost), double person copper tub, a roaring fire to take off the evening chill and more. Fantastic views of these old and beautiful mountains, where you can see for miles. Hiking trails from the easy to the more difficult. A staff that makes sure all your needs are met. Fantastic and delicious meals. Fun places to explore from the “hide-a-ways, waterfall, water wheel, and swinging bridge” to hikes to the top of Hemphill Bald with amazing and spectacular views of the mountains or just strolling the grounds and gardens. Where else can you walk out the lodge door and literally be “in the Smoky Mountain National Park?” A place where you can go and never leave the mountain top. Anyone seeking a romantic or special destination where you can truly get away from it all will find it at The Swag. Just remember there is only one TV on the property but you will not even think about TV at this enchanting location. We were in The Family Room a spacious suite with a living room, large bedroom, a sitting area with skylights and a fantastic outdoor shower. Okay the double person hot tub, private sauna and steam shower were wonderful too. The Swag is an all-inclusive resort. Needless to say we are definitely “Swag Fans!”

Room Tip: Decide on the lodging that best fits your desires. The Family Room was very spacious but so are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

The Swag is a truly special place with a well deserved name, both for it's spectacular location and it's amazing attention to detail and top of the line service. My wife and I just returned from celebrating our 30th anniversary, and we could not have been more pleased or pampered while we were there. The most comfortable log cabin lodge and beautifully manicured grounds can only be topped by the amazing views and genuine graciousness of the entire staff. While the food is very good, it is the staff"s sincere effort to make your visit special in every way, that will definitely bring us back again. The rooms are very comfortable and very well appointed with lots of special touches. The hiking on and around the property is some of the best anywhere, and we both had one of the best massages ever. You are free to do as much or as little as you desire and both of us were completely satisfied. This is a really special place that has earned it's "Swagger" as one of America's top Hide-a-ways and I couldn't agree more.

Room Tip: Each room is unique but all are special and very well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

It has been a dream of mine to stay here for a couple of years, so decided to make a reservation several months ago for a weekend staying in Gail's room to celebrate hubby's birthday & our anniversary. It truly exceeded our expecations!

The view was incredible and the room & amenities were wonderful - we loved the steam shower, the dry sauna, and the big tub on the porch. We were blessed with less than perfect weather (some rainy, cool days/evenings), so made very good use of the fireplace which was tremendous in July!

The staff was what really makes the Swag unique - Julie, thanks for everything! Sandra, Jake, we so appreciated the extra special care you gave my husband when he was feeling poorly. Ginger - the room, bathroom, outdoor tub/shower - everything was especially clean! Thank you for the special turndown gifts. Everyone we met was so kind & considerate. We were lucky to be there the weekend David Morris was featured & he offered to lead us on a hike to Purchase which turned out to be one of the highlights of our visit.

Don't miss out on ordering some of the special items for a real treat - the cheese plate was lovely as was the beautiful vase of flowers. Of course, we had to visit the gift shop on the premises (ok, I visited more than once!) & found a variety of lovely items to choose from - unique jewelry, clothing items, pottery. Someone helped convince my husband to buy me a bracelet I liked very much -:) (Thanks, Julie!) & I've been wearing it almost daily since we've come home.

Food was very nice, plentiful, & lots of options to choose from; the baked goods were incredible!

It's not if we'll return, but when.....hopefully very soon! Don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: We loved Gail's room which is a corner room in the main building on the second level & had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to The Swag was during the summer, and it was wonderful. The rooms are phenomenal (virtually every in-room bath permutation one can imagine), the service impeccable, and the food is exceptional. Also, you can't beat the location--5000 feet up, directly adjacent to Great Smoky Mountains National Park. If you enjoy good food, spectacular views and the great outdoors, don't miss an opportunity to visit The Swag. Two tips: lunch on Wednesday is an outdoor picnic on top of nearby Gooseberry Knob. It's fantastic. Thursday night's dinner is another can't-miss: a barbecue to die for. It's a dry county, so you will need to bring your own alcoholic beverages, but they will serve them for you. We stayed at the Terrace, with a wonderful rhododendron bed, in-room sauna and whirlpool tub--but each room is different, and special in its own way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heeldawg1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
13.8 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
3.9 mi away
Ramada Maggie Valley
Ramada Maggie Valley
#8 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 26 in Maggie Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
7.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swag

Property: The Swag
Address: 2300 Swag Rd, Waynesville, NC 28785-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swag 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swag is an award-winning, romantic hiking hideaway now in our 35th season. On 250 acres at an elevation of 5,000 feet, The Swag shares a common border with the Great Smoky Mountain National Park an hour's drive west of Asheville in western North Carolina. The Swag's very private setting provides inspiring views, peaceful hikes, birding and relaxation. The property's main buildings were constructed of century-old hand hewn logs and from it's mountaintop front porch, guests enjoy a 50 mile panoramic mountain view to the east and south. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swag Hotel Waynesville
Country Inn Waynesville
Waynesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing