We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience at The Swag”
Review of The Swag

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swag
Ranked #4 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The two mile drive from the highway builds anticipation and the landscape and rustic buildings reward the wait. Yvette greeted us like we were old friends and surprised us with an upgraded accommodation. The owners are active in hosting their guests and we felt very much at home in their "home". The decor, the xm on the Bose radio in the room, the cleanliness was evident right away! Then dinner! Amazingly creative and delicious. Appetizers on the "dog trot" porch first and nice wine that you have to bring yourself (dry county). The guided hike with a naturalist/birder was icing on the fabulous stay! Concerns about the cost of our stay vanished when we realized the total value of the experience. Can't wait to come back in May for the wildflowers!

Room Tip: Loved The Woodshed. All rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandyCaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Swag has been around forever, and one of those places my husband and i have always wanted to experience, due to knowing about the many prestigious awards. We decided to extend our summer mountain travels by an extra night by finally getting to see what The Swag was all about. It was a last minute decision, and the only rooms available were Danny's and a couple of the extremely higher priced ones. We chose Danny's, which was a fine decision. Even though the room was small, it was very quaint and cozy with a nice view (no balcony) out the windows. I will focus on the positive comments first, which includes the room. With Danny's being the most affordable room, I am sure all the others are extremely nice. Of course the views, which they are famous for, are outstanding. The solitude is something you will find nowhere more than here. Perhaps a little too much so for some. The walking sticks are a nice gift to remember your experience by.
Now for our disappointments. There is a 15% daily service charge added (in addition to the sales and occupancy taxes), which can make a rather pricey room even more so. I have no problem with a service charge already being included, IF we had had our car parked, assistance with our luggage, and not had to pour our own wine at the dinner table. There is no bottled water to be found on the property, which was strange, since canned soft drinks are abundant. They offer canteened water for hikes, which tastes like metal. Speaking of hikes, all the trails we discovered close to the house were so overgrown that we were nervous to venture far on them, for fear of snakes. We visited in July, so I know things are more grown up that time of the year, but it seemed a little to the extreme. We wanted so badly to enjoy the backyard area where the swings, chairs and horseshoes were, but the bugs and gnats were so annoying that it was impossible. They offered every kind of bug spray imaginable (a warning sign I suppose) at the entrance to the main lodge, but nothing helped. Lastly when we checked out the next morning (around 11:00), we were anxious to get to our next destination, so did not stay for lunch, even though it was included in what we paid. No offer was given to pack us something to take along for the ride. I guess that was enough reason to leave with a bad feel.
All this being said, our one night in the most affordable room with no add ons was a final price tag of $630.00. We were glad to experience The Swag, but more than likely will never return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank pickypicky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Each visit has been very special: the first in its early days, the second fifteen years ago and the third this year. I wish it had been possible to go more often, but the changes and improvements over the years have been wonderful. More authentically Appalachian furnishings and fireplaces and additional log cabins have been added. but the gourmet meals, the happy staff and guests, and the fabulous views of the highest peaks of the Blue Ridge from our rooms have remained the same. The scheduled hikes, evening programs of story telling and naturalist's talks add to the entertainment, but if you prefer quiet solitude it is totally available.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet and comfortable. The ones facing the mountains are sometimes above the clou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Spent our 40th anniversary weekend at this magical place. Was even more amazing than website photos and descriptions. The grounds, the staff, and the owners made us feel at home and special the entire weekend. We hiked with our walking stick gifts, enjoyed our picnic lunch with the butterflies, and relaxed with a spectacular mountain view from our room balcony where hummingbirds stopped by to visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful;
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband surprised me for our 13th anniversary at this lovely inn. I don't know how we had not heard of it, being that it is only a few hours away. We were welcomed to our fantastic cabin with an outdoor fireplace and sauna. There were several pleasant surprises, from the delicious meals provided to the local storyteller after dinner to the lunch packed for us in a backpack. We could easily access nearby wonderful trails, with maps provided. It is a lovely setting high up in the mountains with lots of chairs, hammocks, and even some short trails on the property. The only down side is that it is quite pricey, so this I would rank it as a "special occasion" type of place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdelsavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We made a return trip last month (July, 2013) and it was just as good, if not better, from our last visit several years ago. This is where you go to relax and recharge. It is peaceful and refreshing. Food was once again excellent - don't forget to take your own wine. They are not allowed to sell and it's a long way to a liquor store.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagtopGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Swag has been on my “bucket list” since we first discovered it several years ago. It is a most unique mountain inn in the Western North Carolina Mountains. We have visited The Swag in the past having been there for their fabulous dinner and gourmet lunches on Gooseberry Knob with miles of views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. This year we had the opportunity to stay at The Swag for a wonderful experience. A true Shangri La in the mountains. We love it! A place that reminds us of what is important and how to really appreciate the beauty of these fantastic mountains, the scenic views, and the cooler temperatures. Okay, I am a huge Swag fan and highly recommend it to anyone I chat with who is visiting the western NC mountains for either an overnight stay or at least going for the Wednesday “Gourmet” Picnic or delightful Swag dinner. The Swag is a “bucket list” destination.
What is special about The Swag?
It’s a mountain inn that has five star service but keeps the warm charm of being in a mountain cabin. A lodge suite that often includes an exotic outdoor shower (privacy is utmost), double person copper tub, a roaring fire to take off the evening chill and more. Fantastic views of these old and beautiful mountains, where you can see for miles. Hiking trails from the easy to the more difficult. A staff that makes sure all your needs are met. Fantastic and delicious meals. Fun places to explore from the “hide-a-ways, waterfall, water wheel, and swinging bridge” to hikes to the top of Hemphill Bald with amazing and spectacular views of the mountains or just strolling the grounds and gardens. Where else can you walk out the lodge door and literally be “in the Smoky Mountain National Park?” A place where you can go and never leave the mountain top. Anyone seeking a romantic or special destination where you can truly get away from it all will find it at The Swag. Just remember there is only one TV on the property but you will not even think about TV at this enchanting location. We were in The Family Room a spacious suite with a living room, large bedroom, a sitting area with skylights and a fantastic outdoor shower. Okay the double person hot tub, private sauna and steam shower were wonderful too. The Swag is an all-inclusive resort. Needless to say we are definitely “Swag Fans!”

Room Tip: Decide on the lodging that best fits your desires. The Family Room was very spacious but so are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mixaconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
8.6 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
7.2 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
7.8 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
10.2 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
153 reviews
10.5 mi away
Red Leaf River Inn
Red Leaf River Inn
#8 of 19 in Waynesville
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swag

Address: 2300 Swag Rd, Waynesville, NC 28785-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range: £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swag 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swag is an award-winning, romantic hiking hideaway now in our 35th season. On 250 acres at an elevation of 5,000 feet, The Swag shares a common border with the Great Smoky Mountain National Park an hour's drive west of Asheville in western North Carolina. The Swag's very private setting provides inspiring views, peaceful hikes, birding and relaxation. The property's main buildings were constructed of century-old hand hewn logs and from it's mountaintop front porch, guests enjoy a 50 mile panoramic mountain view to the east and south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Swag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swag Hotel Waynesville
Country Inn Waynesville
Waynesville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing