We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful wedding venue and great night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #5 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful wedding venue and great night stay!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our good friends were married at the Yellow House this past weekend. It was an absolutely gorgeous venue....beautiful mountain wedding. The front staircase made a perfect backdrop for wedding pictures. My husband and I ended up staying in the Carriage Room that night. Such a beautiful and enormous room! There is a porch with rocking chairs and a HUGE jacuzzi tub. Great place to relax after all the wedding festivities. The breakfast in the morning was delicious.....fruit with cinnimon and some kind of amazing cream followed by even more amazing stuffed french toast. Our whole group was incredibly full and left so happy! My husband and I already when we want to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Carriage House but the Sconset was beautiful as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    25
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
178
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We managed to book this the day before staying here based on recommendation from guests at our previous bed and breakfast whilst travelling south down the blue ridge parkway. So glad we did. We arrived tired and slightly frazzled after a long day driving and were just blown away with the property and in particular our room (the carriage house suite). The bath was more like a swimming pool and probably could have fitted all the guests in at one time! Wish we could have stayed more than one night. Shawn is a wonderfully cheerful and easy going host and ensures everyone has everything they need including wine/port and cheese plus lots of other nibbles. The guest kitchen area was extremely well stocked with freshly made cookies and many different drink options. We spent most of our evening talking with other guests we had only just met but felt we had known for years in the communal sitting area. All in all a wonderful experience, would definitely recommend this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piedmont, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Great food. They even fixed special food for me as I am gluton free. Pancakes for me was gluton free and great. You get a lot of food. Refrigator in your room with all kinds of drinks. They even brought us a snack tray to our room one day. The staff are all very very nice. The property is beautiful with lots of rockers on porch. They have a hammock under a tree.

Room Tip: No pool but a pond and you could hear the water from our room with door open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My daughter was recently married at the Yellow house. The grounds were perfect for an outdoor wedding and the house was absolutely beautiful. We used the bottom floor the restrooms, rooms to dress and later for the dinner buffet and dessert bar. Porches and many outdoor sitting areas added to the charm. The manager Shawn was priceless and made the day perfect for our daughter. We will be back to stay when we can and would highly recommend the Yellow House to family and friends:)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 787mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Yellow House B&B for 10days.We were pleased beyond any expectations. Our room was cozy and romantic, it was filled with everything and more, from bathrobes to beverages and snacks in the refrigerator. The Innkeeper and staff were helpful ,efficient ,informative, and always there to fill your needs.
The breakfast were amazing. We ate on the large porch several mornings and also in the main dining room. The music playing thru out the inn was a wonderful treat.
The location is very convenient to downtown Waynesville, what a charming town, great restaurants and shops.
I recommend this inn and hope to revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lspencer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My wife and I were looking for an anniversary get-away not too far from home (Asheville NC) and through the internet and our Select Registry membership, found this B&B in Waynesville NC, less than 40 minutes away. The location is lovely (well, it's surrounded by truly awesome mountains, just like home) and the property invites you into a world of relaxation from the first moment, with its 5 acres of beautiful gardens with secluded spots, 2 ponds fed by a mountain stream and sitting areas in many quiet places. The inn itself is kept immaculately and has a selection of rooms reflecting different eras and styles, from formal to Caribbean. Every room has a fireplace; some have balconies. The common areas are inviting and comfortable. Breakfast is not for the faint of heart or anyone on weight watchers. There is no choice - it's one item for the day - but Shawn will fix something else if you wish, and has taken care in advance to ask about any dietary restrictions. The inn is close to Waynesville, a charming town with some excellent dining, and a main street with many buildings, now mostly retail locations, that are on the national historic registry. We were reluctant to leave and plan to return.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back, overlooking the lower pond. Sitting on the balcony and enjoying a gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I never stayed at a bed and breakfast before, but I knew I did not like them. I am a seasoned traveler, diamond member at Hilton, and had no desire to eat and hang with a bunch of people I did not know in a house. I live in a house. When I get a way, I leave my house to some place cooler. My wife and I were given a couples get away to the Yellow House that our in-laws bought us. With great hesitancy, I drove up the narrow drive.
Bottom line; it was a great weekend, the house was big and beautiful, and the breakfast is simply amazing. We ate one morning with the group in the dining room, and the next morning romantically in our bedroom. The rooms are large, beds were comfy, quite, and I hope sound proof. Grounds are amazing, and the town of Waynesville was charming and has some great restaurants. One night we even planned to stay out a little late and got a taxi to take us into town and back. We even had a chance to play a local golf course which was enjoyable too. I recommend this place and will be back.

Room Tip: Check the website for the different rooms. They have many different types of rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myalchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
266 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Property: The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing