We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Ranked #5 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mauldin, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent two nights here at the beginning of the month and as other reviewers have said, Shawn was always there when you needed him yet was never there when you wanted privacy. The grounds were very pretty, and the pondhouse was quiet and secluded. It was nice to have a choice of a separate house vs. a main house, as some B&Bs can get a bit noisy. The location was perfect, and the breakfast was outstanding. I can promise you that you will have to skip lunch if you eat the whole thing. Two assistants delivered the breakfasts to us on golf carts, and each meal was hot and delicious. Kim W.'s review a week ago of the breakfast was on the mark - we must have stayed on the same nights.The cheese platter that greeted us was perfect. And there is complimentary wine as well as snacks for the afternoon. There was no TV in our room, which allowed us to decompress, but there was a small fridge. I must give the ultimate compliment - although I used a Groupon (I'm a cheap guy), I would pay full price to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the pond house, just don't feed the ducks. Shawn comes around with special feed f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drluch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
175
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wylie, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the moment we arrived and Shawn was at the front waiting to welcome us to the very last second we were there was perfect!!! The suites were beautifully appointed. The breakfast was delicious. Staff was so friendly. We can't Caitlin to return!

Room Tip: Everyone of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast located about 30 minutes from Asheville. The secluded setting provides a peaceful and quiet place to relax. The inn keeper Shawn is friendly and determined to make all guests feel comfortable. He provides wine and a wide variety of snacks for guests in the afternoon. The inn also has a butler's pantry filled with snacks and drinks for guests, and our room had a small refrigerator with complimentary drinks. We stayed in the Carolina, and it was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and we had the option of eating outside on the large front porch. Breakfasts are hardy. We had strawberry stuffed French toast, bacon, juice, tea/coffee, and mixed fruit our first morning. The second morning we were served a large slice of quiche, potato tots, juice, mixed fruit, asparagus, and coffee or tea. I highly recommend this bed and breakfast and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was my second stay at the Yellow House and it was just as special and magical as our first. This trip was for a quick girls getaway with my sister and girlfriend in the St. Paul de Vence suite. The suite was very large, apartment-sized really, very clean and superbly appointed. Queen bed and the daybed were both super comfortable, and bathroom was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious with everyone asking for recipes. And of course, the early evening socials were such a nice time to relax and enjoy a glass of wine and the complementary snacks and chat with other guests and the inn keeper Shawn. Or just relax away on the porch in a rocker. The Yellow House is perfectly locaated with the Blue Ridge Parkway was just a short 15 minute ride away, and downtown Waynesville just 5 minutes away. We enjoyed a great day visiting waterfalls in the area then dinner at the Wine Seller in downtown Waynesville. All in all, another thoroughly wonderful weekend getaway at the Yellow House B&B.

Room Tip: Just call and Shawn will help you choose the right room for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This B&B was a wonderful experience. Innkeeper Shawn is welcoming and cheerful and his staff are equally vivacious and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and the location is ideal. If you want to go hiking in the Smoky Mountains or take a nice drive on the Blue Ridge Parkway it's a quick trip away and Shawn has plenty of guidebooks detailing some great trails.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Yellow House is a gorgeous find in a quiet, secluded area. The rooms are beautiful, the food delicious and the hospitality of the staff exceptional. They provided everything we needed and much more. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: S'conset was our favorite room in the main house and the only one with a whirlpool. It is situat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I were looking for a quiet mountain place to stay on our way from KY to Hilton Head Island for a week vacation. This place had a last minute special for a room on a Friday night as it was booked Wed-Thurs and Sat-Sun (2 night minimum B&B). Waynesville was about half way so we booked and were so happy we did! This wonderful old home sits on top of a hill surrounded by trees, gardens, ponds and has great porches and relaxation areas. Shawn, our host, was so accommodating and helpful. Our suite was huge and comfortable with a jetted tub for two that we never used, a fireplace, sitting area, mini kitchenette with fridge, big closet with bathrobes, huge bathroom, french doors to a patio and a very comfortable bed. There are tons of DVDs and books at the house and a kitchen with snacks, drinks and homemake cookies. We took a short drive into town for dinner after the great 5 PM wine and appetizer hour. Shawn made our dinner reservation. There are a number of great places to eat. Check out Classic Wineseller for pre-dinner glass of wine, or dinner or just to browse and buy wine. We were entertained by Joe Cruz with piano and Beatles/Elton John songs while we waited to a table at a restaurant around the corner. Lots of shops BUT all close by 6 PM. Go hungry to breakfast as you will eat all on your plate and then some! The quiche was so good and we heard the waffle the morning before was also very good. You can be served on the porch, in your room or the dining room. We chose the dining room as we so enjoyed talking to the other guests. The house is well decorated and not overly done. There is a Pond House that has 3 units, just up the drive from the main house. The grounds are lovely. Shawn, we will be back and plan to drive parts of the Blue Ridge Parkway. Thanks for an enjoyable relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Check out the website for views of all the rooms and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
5.0 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
2.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#1 of 19 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road

Property: The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Address: 89 Oakview Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-7110
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hilltop overlooking the picturesque Blue Ridge Mountains, this grand bed and breakfast has been an integral part of the landscape of our changing seasons for over 128 years. Built as a summer home in the late 1800’s, its charm was shared with the privileged few. Today, The Yellow House on Plott Creek Rd., welcomes many to experience the beauty and splendor of this wonderful home. The ten luxurious rooms and suites offer a relaxing atmosphere that only comes with the special attention and amenities found in the warmth of a bed and breakfast. Perfectly situated on 5 rolling acres, this historic in offers the peace and serenity of a quiet mountain setting, while providing easy access to the restaurants, art galleries, and shopping of the quaint town of Waynesville, N.C. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing