We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Away From Home”
Review of Grandview Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grandview Lodge
Ranked #7 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My Wife, Daughter, and I stayed there for a week in late August of 2013. It was quiet in Waynesville and this was my first time staying in town. The wife got a really good deal on line and spoke directly to the staff at the lodge. Did not know what to expect and it turned out that most kids were returning to school the following week and just a few rooms were booked after a new couple took over and renovated. We only paid like $75 a night and our expectations were not high. After talking to the owners friend for just a few minutes he asked if we would like to stay in the 2 bedroom cottage at no extra charge. You dont have to be a rocket scientist to take him up on that. Let me tell you the beauty of this cottage, like an interior decorator spent alot of time in there. The hospitality of Terry, his wife and good friend who personally cooked us fresh breakfast each morning was the best. Good old southern hospitality. I'm writing this over a year later b/c I just graduated RN school and it's real tough. My family and I will never forget our week there and when I take my next vacation in Waynesville, if Terry still owns that place, thats where I will stay. They treated us like family. I felt like Terry was my Uncle after talking with him as he invited me in the kitchen and spent time aquainting us with the town. If you want to get away from the hotel scene and just sit around the fire like the old days, then this is the Lodge for you.

Room Tip: Rent one of the cottages. It's the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    28
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
49
58
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful find in scenic Waynesville!! Great new owners. They are really personable, genuinely nice & down to earth. They go out of the way to make sure your needs are met and that you feel at home. Great full breakfast everyday. I would tell every one, 'Don't miss this Gem!!'
Jennifer

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferH0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I enjoyed 2 recent meals at the Lodge and was very pleased with both. A holiday dinner with friends was very special and all were quite satisfied with the well prepared meal. The cranberry citrus side Breanna made was the best I ever ate. Then I attended another gathering in December and was treated to another fine meal and attentive service. This time we were seated on the enclosed porch and enjoyed the lovely view of the mountains and it felt quite magical as we enjoyed some musical entertainment. The new owners are definitely showing the love to their new home and community!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TES1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I recently took a romantic getaway over the Christmas holiday. We stayed at the Grandview Lodge, in Waynesville, NC. This is a beautiful Bed & Breakfast/Lodge with lots of rustic charm with beautiful rock fire places and a wrap around porch with rockers. We enjoyed sitting on the porch bundled up and listening to the rolling creek. The view of the Smokey Mountains are amazing! The Breakfast was delicious and the owners were extremely accommodating. Because they knew it was a romantic getaway, they had a bottle of prosseco chilled and waiting for us in our room! Thank you Jeffrey and Brianna for a wonderful and romantic stay. We look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Had a great stay before Christmas the room was comfortable new TV and the breakfast was wonderful no continental which was good. Really enjoyed the fireplace and having drinks with the proprietors. Can't wait to visit in the spring and definitely in the fall

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCMorga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I decided to stay in an inn for first time and was so impressed by end of my stay I decided to book for a future weekend as well. The new owners of inn, made the most amazing breakfast for all the guests.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gehodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Recently traveling cross country I was pleased to find beautiful areas to visit in the North Carolina mountains. I personally do not care for chain motels. I was in search of a Bed & Breakfast to spend the night. The majority were certainly out of my price range. I was so pleased to find The Grandview Lodge. Upon entering I was greeted by the new owners, who I may add were so kind, pleasant and personable. I felt as if I had known them all of my life. The room was very quaint and I was very comfortable and slept very well. I would recommend to anyone to enjoy a stay at the Lodge. I loved the rustic feeling of nostalgia and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast. Thumbs up from me and Kudos to the owners. They will continue to have my business in the future !

Room Tip: Any room would be wonderful in the Lodge. I stayed in the main house and really enjoyed it. The owne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
1.5 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
5.9 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
1.5 mi away
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
Jonathan Creek Inn and Villas
#1 of 25 in Maggie Valley
604 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#3 of 19 in Waynesville
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Lodge

Property: Grandview Lodge
Address: 466 Lickstone Rd, Waynesville, NC 28786-5300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grandview Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy atmosphere and rustic mountain decor at Grandview Lodge in Waynesville, North Carolina, make it a great place to wind down after a day of exploring the Great Smoky Mountains and surrounding area. It's a familiar, comfortable place to relax, to enjoy nature, and to engage with one another in the majestic mountains setting of Western North Carolina. Located in the Blue Ridge and Great Smoky Mountains of western North Carolina, Grandview Lodge puts you in the heart of one of the nation's most beautiful areas. Known for its natural splendor, activity-filled outdoor lifestyle and serenity, this magnificent setting offers a variety of activities or the perfect backdrop to do nothing at all. And you'll find plenty of area attractions. Each of Grandview Lodge's rooms has its own personality and design. Comfortable and quaint, each room includes a complimentary Continental Plus breakfast, and free wi-fi. There's plenty of peace and quiet for the ideal couple's retreat or romantic getaway. And some of our rooms are designated pet-friendly too! Check availability to help plan your next mountain vacation. Learn more about our mountain lodge in these photos. Looking for a rustic mountain setting for your wedding or special event? We can accommodate up to 38 lodging guests in our guest rooms and cottage; and dining is available for up to 100 event guests. Authentic mountain surroundings and beautiful landscaping grounds ensure a memory-making experience. It all comes together to make this special place a home away from home that you'll enjoy returning to, year after year. The picturesque beauty of the grounds and indoor settings at Grandview Lodge, along with our great food and superior service all add up to the perfect combination for your group event. From the moment you begin planning your event, our staff will help you every step of the way. We can accommodate up to 100 people for: Weddings Bridal Luncheons Bridal Showers Rehearsal Dinners Family Reunions Group Events Corporate Retreats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Grandview Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing