We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Park Inn
Ranked #8 of 19 Waynesville B&B and Inns
Knoxville
1 review
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

The owners were very friendly & it was great location for attending the heritage festival; however, the rooms are very old & in serious need of updating. Was rather pricey for what you get. We'll visit Waynesville again, but doubt we will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemtwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
36
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cordova, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

My husband and have travelled to Waynesville many times and this is the ONLY place we'll stay. Rick and Carolyn are wonderful and make you feel right at home. The location is perfect on Main Street :) We'll be back in October for the crafts' fair and to enjoy the changing leaves and are bringing 4 other couples with us!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brentsbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

Friendly innkeepers provide a clean and comfortable space for a relaxing visit. This older property has retained the charm of days gone by. Furnishings are not "updated" but all a visitors needs are met and then some. We rocked away some time in the chairs in front of our room, kept our snacks in the mini-fridge and enjoyed the most comfortable bed that we had during our vacation. Walking to town is a huge advantage of this property and the owners go out of their way to assist every guest with their questions. Truly, updating the furnishings would be a detriment to this cozy place which we're so happy to have found! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieb1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

This hotel is walking distance to the downtown shops and restaurants. The Inn is older but very well maintained and very clean. Our room was spacious and the beds were comfy. It is a great value. My daughter and I enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Quaint hotel, good value, great small-town atmosphere. If you want rocking chairs outside your room, fellow guests that say hello, and a half-block walk to town, this is your place. And yes, breakfast at Clyde's. If you are looking for a Comfort Inn with musty, noisy interior hallways, and your car or cycle three stories down around back, don't stay here. And don't pay attention to the whiny reviews.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcmozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Connoisseurs of Fifties-era, small-town motels will find that this charming little place delivers all the ambiance needed to transport one back about 50 years. Built in 1952, the Oak Park Inn is the perfect place to imagine pulling up in your brand-new '55 Chevy. Indeed, it has served as a rallying spot for classic car clubs and biker groups for some years now. Even on a brisk February day, it served as the perfect place to sit outside and have a glass of wine and read a good book. One can only imagine taking in the mountain air on a brilliant night in mid-July. Nestled in the shadow of the mountains that ring small-town Waynesville, the Oak Park Inn is literally steps from restaurants, wine shops, bookstores and an excellent library. The rooms are simple and clean. The costs are reasonable. The location cannot be beat. I just spent a week here and I'm looking forward to coming back again. This is a modest, delightful place in a charming community. Will be back! --George Angell

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgant84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

This was our first visit. We would like to be regulars. The place is well kept and very friendly. Rick and Carolyn go out of their way to make sure you have a great experience there!! I got home in Florida and wish I was there.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bukieTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waynesville hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Smoky Mountain Inn
2.7 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#7 of 19 in Waynesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andon-Reid Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
Brookside Mountain Mist Inn
#1 of 19 in Waynesville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak Hill on Love Lane Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
The Yellow House on Plott Creek Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Park Inn

Property: Oak Park Inn
Address: 196 S Main St, Waynesville, NC 28786-4355
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesville
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Oak Park Hotel Waynesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing