We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant and Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant and Enjoyable”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Waynesville Inn and we enjoyed it even more than our first. Our room in the Inn was bright and cheerful and overlooked the lovely golf courses. We enjoyed sitting and rocking on the terrace in the late day and early evening. Our breakfasts were included in our stay and were quite ample and delicious with a nice selection of dishes to choose from.
The location is convenient to downtown Waynesville, where we enjoyed an afternoon of 'retail therapy'. We would recommend the Waynesville Inn to anyone traveling to the area, or a destination of its own.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the terrace and golf course offer the nicest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
It is very gratifying to hear from return guests! Thanks for taking a few moments to share some details of your stay with the TripAdvisor community. I hope your third stay will be even more enjoyable than the first two! Thank you so much for your continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    213
    100
    52
    32
See reviews for
101
306
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We came on a Groupon $99 for 2 nights. We really got our moneys worth and then some. We had a 2nd story historic room in the main lodge and a balcony overlooking the golf course. The rhododendrons were in full bloom and the landscape around the lodge was spectacular. The Breakfast that comes with the room stay was 1st rate and delicious. We were so pleased with our stay we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we stay in room 234
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caryncc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your time in Waynesville and were able to stay with us during such a beautiful time of year. Thank you so much for your business and I appreciate your time in posting a review. We are looking forward to your next stay as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

To start, this was a groupon deal so perhaps we had the worst room in the place but I was not happy. The room was fine enough and, as a whole, the inn is lovely but I had the worst shower experience ever (and I was an itinerant traveler through rural Alaska). The water was either ice cold or scalding hot - luckily the pressure was so low that there was time to avoid a serious injury. In the transition between unbelievable extremes there was time enough to at least get soap out of my hair. We were above a kitchen so my second attempt was after they'd closed - it was still horrible. The desk staff's response was simply - well, that's what you get in a hotel almost 100 years old.

Breakfast buffet was good enough as was the other staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eclecticmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
I am happy to hear you found the Inn lovely overall but I apologize for the problems with your shower and for the response you received from our staff. Please contact me directly with more details, including stay dates and room number, so I can have our maintenance staff check for problems. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

When you first arrive, it looks a little outdated and run down, certainly not as nice as the pictures. But it turned out to be well kept, clean and comfortable. We stayed down in the "Cottages" and the beds were good, the bathrooms updated and clean and the views very nice. Breakfast was excellent and we played 18 holes on a scenic, short, but challenging golf course. Would like to come back some time for the 9 we missed. Attentive staff. Being just out of town was nice and the views were beautiful. The "fitness center" was an old treadmill and elliptical, not open until 8am so as not to disturb the guests! The "Spa" was a house on the grounds labelled "Spa" but didn't get to try it.

Room Tip: The cottage room was good. Did not see the others but they did not seem as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for taking a few moments to share a review of our property. I will make sure the staff receives your compliments. Indeed, the fitness room is open from 8:00 a.m.-8:00 p.m. because of its proximity to guest rooms and the spa, located in a villa on the property, offers massage, nail services and other treatments. I hope you will be able to give it a try during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Reminded me of the set of the dirty dancing movie. My room wasn't updated. No desk in room. The sink was in the room, not bathroom. The mattress wasn't very comfortable. I liked the natural creaking of the wood floors. Good breakfast buffet. Front desk staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking a few moments to share your thoughts. I'm sorry you found your bed uncomfortable and your room's layout a bit unconventional. The stone-walled Lodge building has been here since the 1920s, so many of the floor plans are creative and difficult to change or expand. Thanks again for posting a review. I will make sure the staff receives your compliments. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My mother and I meet every year for Mother's Day weekend at a place equidistant from Charlotte and Atlanta. This year we chose The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa based on a Groupon promotion and some lovely photos of the grounds.

Mom wanted to stay in the main lodge because of proximity to breakfast, but I was hesitant after reading some of the reviews of the historic rooms. She countered that we have stayed in B&Bs, lodges and hotels all over the southeast and have enjoyed the diversity - we aren't afraid of a little "character". And as usual, Mom was right! Our room (#252) definitely had some older features and decorations, but was very clean and we enjoyed the rustic decor, the picturesque view of the golf course, and the cozy sitting room. In fact, I think this may be the only room with a sitting area - our neighbors all appeared to have balconies instead.

The beds were also comfortable and we made use of the small refrigerator in the room. The only inconveniences we experienced were spotty Wi-Fi (it only worked for a short period on Sunday morning - not on Friday or Saturday) and thin walls. We could hear other guests talking and walking as they passed our room, or stopped to get ice. Fortunately, it was a quiet weekend and nothing disturbed us after 11:00 PM or before 7:45 AM (when the leaf blower started up).

Breakfast every morning was very nice - we enjoyed made-to-order omelets and waffles, and the buffet also included eggs, grits, bacon, sausage, biscuits, muffins, toast, cereal, fruit, juice and coffee/tea. We ate dinner onsite at the Cork and Cleaver one night, and it was the best meal we had during our stay. I actually sent back the Ahi Yellow Fin Tuna ordered the next night at The Chef's Table (rated #1 restaurant in Waynesville) - tasted terrible (Mom agreed).

On top of everything, the staff were universally friendly and helpful both during the reservation process and during our stay. On Saturday morning they suggested we attend a downtown festival which was lots of fun (and included performances by bands and belly dancers, plant sale, art vendors and antique shops). The rest of the time we enjoyed walking around the beautiful grounds and chatting on the veranda in our rocking chairs.

It was a peaceful, relaxing weekend overall - would absolutely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyW717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a descriptive account of your time with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I will make sure to circulate your comments among the staff and note your suggestions for improvement. Safe travels and a happy belated Mother's Day to your mother!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Dirty room, holes in our sheets, broken blinds, dirty shower, dirty floors, big disappointment! Staff in the restaurant were nice at breakfast, the people in the bar at dinner time were quite trashy. I paid wayyy too much for this stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWhite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C, Director of Rooms at The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
I'm so sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay. I apologize for the shortcomings you have described in reference to your accommodations and I will pass along your compliments to the breakfast staff. As for the folks in the bar, I am unsure if you are referring to our staff or our guests. In either case, I have not witnessed or heard anything that would make me agree with your characterization.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
0.9 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
4.4 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
4.3 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
The Inn on Biltmore Estate
1.5 mi away
Grandview Lodge
Grandview Lodge
#6 of 19 in Waynesville
138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 8 in Waynesville
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 176 Country Club Dr, Waynesville, NC 28786-4722
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains on one side and the Blue Ridge Parkway and Balsam Mountains on the other, The Waynesville Inn Golf Resort & Spa has been welcoming visitors to a casual and relaxed mountain atmosphere since the 1920s. Located just a mile from the shops and restaurants of Historic Downtown Waynesville and only a short drive from Asheville and Cherokee, the Inn offers:Stunning mountain views from many of its 111 guest rooms27 holes of championship mountain golfTwo distinct on-site restaurants Several versatile indoor and outdoor event spacesOn-site Balsam Spa offering massage and body treatments, nail services and waxingFree Wi-Fi in all guest rooms and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Hotel Waynesville
The Waynesville Inn, Golf Resort And Spa
The Waynesville Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing