We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice porch”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice porch”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Located high on the mountain it is nice to sit on the porch and rock. Front desk night staff not very friendly. Rooms are fair. Pool was open but needed to be cleaned lots of spiders and bugs in the water. Only two bath towels on room had to go to front desk to get more.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hedmonds3576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    44
    18
    10
    14
See reviews for
31
29
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We chose to stay here for one night after a full day of driving. The hotel was conveniently located on top of the hill. I was fortunate enough to meet the owner and he explained to me that this property was previously rundown by the previous owner and that he had put in a lot of time and money into making this place worth the money.....And it is! The view we had was breathtaking and the rooms were more than comfortable and accomodating for our nights rest. If you want to experience Carolina with a view, this place is a hidden gem! Thanks to Ken and the staff for giving us an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I had a friend coming in to town for a visit and we tried Super 8 first but they didn't have a big enough room available. So we took them to Rodeway Inn. They got a room but ended up leaving within a half-hour with a full refund. They asked for non-smoking but the room smelled of smoke; was extremely hot and wouldn't cool down; and when they opened the door for the bathroom, they were overcome with sewer fumes. They specifically asked if the pool was available when they checked in as their children wanted to swim, was told it was but when they went to check it was locked up. I went into the lobby with them and it was pretty bad - smelled funny; was poorly decorated; the desk clerk was not professionally dressed, though nice. The impression was just overall shabby. Beautiful view but that was the only good thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waynesville hotels

Renton, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We were driving from Tenessee to Atlanta and were growing weary from the drive, so we began seeking a place to rest around 10 PM. The Rodeway Inn has an awesome location and looks like a remote beacon on the hill along the freeway. We u-turned at the next exit to return back to it because it looked so stately. We drove up the steep, winding road to the hotel but there were NO cars in the lot... hmmm. But we buzzed the night clerk, who answered the door in short shorts and white t-shirt and we pay for a room. As we go to park at the room, another car whips around us and drops a guy off and leaves. Its the only other car we've seen at the hotel. The thin young man knocks and is let in. We're watching as we're still debating the wisdom of staying here. At this time we check reviews on the place, which are confirming what we're seeing, but still go into the room hoping for a pleasant surprise. The creep factor was too high, so we get a refund and continue to exit 98 and find the Best Western a much better choice. We've affectionately named it the "Hotel Carolina"

Room Tip: Keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_T2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

OK - this hotel is rough around the edges but there are some redeeming qualities that you need to be aware of. This is an old Day's Inn (built cheap because they had some major cost overruns as a result of location). It got a bad rep under that management/ownership and it seems to be hard to shake that reputation. The people that run it under Rodeway Inns are good people and they are keeping it C L E A N and as well maintained as they can. I have stayed there twice and can tell you the housekeepers do an excellent job with what they have on hand. The bedding is comfortable and clean. If you are a hotel rat that stays in your room go elsewhere. If you only sleep here this is a good, inexpensive option. The management bends over backward to accommodate all but things like wireless, parking, and looks are challenges. I will not hesitate to stay here again. But in my travels I have stayed in some real dumps so I am just looking for a clean and quiet location.

Room Tip: WiFi is available in the lobby and in rooms above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarmajor29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albemarle, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

#1-I am disabled and requested a room on the ground floor if they had no elevator. The desk clerk stated there were no notes to that effect and the only room she had for us (besides a smoking room on ground level) was one flight up. Okay, we will take it but I had an extremely hard time navigating those stairs! She too told us they were booked solid and they were NOT-not when you have parking in front of your door on one level and there were 5 cars for about 12 rooms?
#2-We called to ask where the ice machine was-on the lowest level behind the fromt desk-my daughter went to get ice for me and it took her almost 30 min. to fill HALF of the ice bucket! Then she had to go down again because we discovered there were NO washcloths in our room.
#3-The room seemed fine-at first, but the AC unit went out the second night we were there. I was comfortable, daughter was not.
#4-Front desk clerk was the same to us-no thank you, no smile-nothing!
#5-The place is full of junk everywhere! Stuff laying around outside, junk and landscaping materials and tools etc. Fences are broken and falling down, hand rails are rusted through, bottom step is so high I nearly could not manage it-has to be far from code! Our tub had many worn spots on it, shower curtain rod looks handmade, the entire bathroom needs updated. Pictures from the wall are sitting on the floor, nails sticking out of the wall.
-----The only nice things I can say is that the beds and pillows were very comfortable. The balcony outside our room was nice also, as were the rocking chairs, but when you sit in them, you cannot see any view due to the top railing of the balcony being at eye level. We go to this area quite often and try differenct places to stay-we will never stay there again and never recommend it to anyone. My daughter will write a review too and I think she will be a bit more scathing about the whole experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvanurse1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesville
2.8 mi away
Best Western Smoky Mountain Inn
2.2 mi away
Lake Junaluska Conference and Retreat Center
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 25 in Maggie Valley
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lambuth Inn
Lambuth Inn
#2 of 3 in Lake Junaluska
85 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Clarketon Motel
The Clarketon Motel
#13 of 25 in Maggie Valley
101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 6 - Waynesville
Super 6 - Waynesville
#5 of 8 in Waynesville
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 232 Phillips Rd, Waynesville, NC 28786-7229 (Formerly Relax Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Waynesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Waynesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Waynesville
Waynesville Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing