We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carolina Ziplines

Carolina Ziplines
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Westfield
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Personal touch from everyone we came in contact with -- from Barb, in making the reservations, responding to emails, to arriving and being welcomed so warmly by Whitney, to the safety conscious, fun loving charm of our guides -Jeremy and Grant. We were celebrating our 40 wedding anniversary that week and wanted to do something a little different. There were all ages there. The group we were with had a dad & teenage son, grandparents with their 3 grandsons ranging from 6-15. We would highly recommend Carolina Ziplines. They go out of their way to make you feel special and SAFE - while having fun!!! We think next time we might like to experience this at night. :-) And bring more people with us!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
463 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Super experience all the way around, from Barbara who helped us with the booking to the staff that checked us in, to the guides that took us around the course. Everyone was super friendly and safety was certainly a priority (you are always buckled in if you're off the ground). You're not terrible high off the ground, but several of the platforms are freestanding without railings so if you're not comfortable with heights (like me), it's a bit disconcerting. Still, a great time with a lot of zips including two long ones at the end.

There are two minor suggestions that I would have: There is some significant uphill walking after a couple of the initial zips to get to the top of the course. If you're young and in good shape, no problem, but if you're older, it can be a strain. An option to use the ATV to get older participants to the top would be helpful. Secondly, because of some the members in our group brought two extra people, we ended up with 11 people in our tour. That made it really crowded on a couple of the platforms and made the tour much slower. Not really the Company's fault, but still a bit frustrating.

Overall, however, it was still a great time and we'll almost certainly be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hokiechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great fun at night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We did the night time zip lining. It was great! The staff were great and very entertaining. I've been zip lining in different places but never at night. We really enjoyed this!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank susiQ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Glad we put some zip into our day - modern equipment, retro charm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

While this zip enterprise does not have the terror factor of some that specialize in flying out over deep canyons, nor the amazing scenery of places like Jamaica, what it DOES have is abundant, long zip lines; a generous amount of activity for the money; beautiful surroundings, friendly, competent staff; and clean, good equipment with great attention to safety. While everything is up-to-date, this family-owned business had a retro charm, with lots of personal pride and attention going into it. People of any age who can follow basic directions and walk up a moderate hill can enjoy this activity. We saw young children and very "seasoned" adults taking part. They start you out on a few shorter, slower lines to give you the feeling of what it's like, and then the fun begins! They only reason I gave it a 4 instead of 5 is that we had to wait a while after our scheduled start time before our group started. It WAS worth the wait! One bit of advice: There is a basic discount coupon in the tourist brochures and you can ask for that even if you don't have the brochure. DO google for discounts before you go: at times they have Groupons or other discounts that they will honor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went on this trip as a family. One of us has intellectual deficits and there are not many adventure sports that we can do as a group because of this.
However,These people were very accomodating and we had really good fun.There are about 7-8 ziplines of varying speed and intensity but all very safe. You are harnessed and cabled the entire time, so no safety concerns at all. Our guide was very funny but very watchful.He guided my family member through this and included us in every zipline. Barbara who did the booking was very attentive to detail and we had a great trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcrazies49021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolina Ziplines also viewed

 

Been to Carolina Ziplines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing