We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gear Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lloyds on the River Country Inn(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Rivers Lodge(Bryson City)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn & Suites On The River(Cherokee)(Great Value!)
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
38
10
3
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
10
3
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgearhead innstay there againfire pitoutdoor moviegreat place to stayclean roomsbryson city and cherokeemaryjimthememotelrefrigeratormountains
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Rooms are huge, much bigger than the big chain motels and Gearhead is themed around muscle cars and motorcycles. Each room has a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee. They also have free Wifi. To be honest, we made a trip 2 weeks before up the Blue Ridge Parkway and stayed at a big chain, Gearhead's pillowtop mattresses were more comfortable than the chain motel's. We plan on staying at Gearhead on all of our future trips to Cherokee, NC. It's comfortable and convenient to local attractions and they are biker friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel is a quaint place to stay. They are still doing renavations to the place but it is looking great. The room we stayed in had a kitchenette and was very spacious. The owners are absolutely wonderful and a delight to be aroun. We have added Mary and Jim to our extended family and hope to stay in touch with them as well as stay there again. We are planning a trip out there in June 2011 as well as in November 2011 and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SissyT213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We stayed at the Gearhead Inn with our 2 boys in July. We had been staying in Cherokee at the Cool Valley Motel since 2000 and when we found out it wasn't going to have a pool this year we started looking around and we found the Gearhead Inn. Jim and Mary are the nicest people and we so enjoyed our stay at their motel. Our boys who are 16 and 13 loved the pool and stayed out there the whole time we were there. I would recommend this motel to anyone. It is a very nice motel and the rooms are clean and oversized and all 4 of us stayed in the room and we had plenty of room to move around. We have already gotten reservations for next year in July. Can't wait to go back.
Beverly from South Carolina

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momof2boys15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We were looking for an out-of -the way older motel for our visit to Cherokee. I am glad we found Gearhead Inn! It was clean and the beds/pillows were very comfortable. We loved the large room and the retro feel of the place. The owners, Jim and Mary were very friendly and helpful. The coffee Mary had in the office in the mornings was great. We were in town for business and pleasure and Gearhead Inn was in the perfect location. The pool was clean and refreshing. If you are looking for a newer more modern hotel this is not the place for you but if you want spacious rooms, comfy beds and the feel of yesteryear you will love this place.We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyB1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Gearhead Inn 3 times this year. We make it our regular stop no matter where we are driving. The "smell of the South" in the shrubbery greats you as you get out of your car. The rooms are very spacious with everything we need to be truly comfortable. The owners are new, the name is new, the theme is new and exciting as each room is themed for the muscle cars of the 50s and 60s. Jim and Mary have worked to restore this motel to it's original condition. The past visit included our adult children and our grand children. Eating by the pool while the kids unwound from our driving trip was an instant pleasure. We were within a few miles of the Smokey Mt National Park entrance; we enjoyed that the next day returning to the Gearhead and the southern hospitality of Jim and Mary. We will definitely return to this special inn again and again.
RnL, Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmontgomery3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews