We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great piece of History”
Review of Gear Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gear Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My son and I decided on a road trip to spend some time in the North Carolina Mountains. Our calls to find a place to stay kept getting rejected because of No Vacancy until we found Gear Head Inn along with Jim and Mary. What a wonderful place. Motor Inn will take you back to the 60's with a modern touch. The beds were comfortable and clean with plush white sheets, a lot of people overlook this point along with nice towels. They did a good job of renovating this old Inn. New carpet and great lighting with a 60's style. Every room appears to be named after a muscle car of the 70's. The lights around the pool were shaped like a gear shifter. Jim and Mary made us feel like we were home. We used Gear Head Inn as a base camp for us to raft the Nantahla River, Jet Ski Fontana Lake and tube on Deep Creek. Worthy of checking this place out on your next visit.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are about 17' x 21' Plenty or room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Gear Head Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was my first trip to NC, my girlfriend and I stayed at the Gearhead Inn, Mary and Jim the Owner/Operators were awesome. So friendly, and helpful, giving us tips on where to eat locally. The 'Roadrunner' room, was neat and clean. Whatever we wanted, all we had to do was ask. Always a wave hello/goodbye whether you were leaving, or returning. While we were too busy with friends in the area, the pool looked very inviting, and they even had the fire pit going, we roasted marshmallows and made smores, so very homey. Old fashioned service thats hard to find at a chain. Will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Love all the improvements at the Gearhead Inn. We love the idea and theme rooms. The mustang room is our favorite! Thanks again, Jim and Mary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adcveykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Jim and Mary at the gear head went out of there way when we ha d issues with our bikes. The rooms were clean. And the muffins on Saturdays were top shelf. Good value for the rooms , and the freandship extended to customers invaluable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogmaofwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed here for a guys weekend motorcycle adventure. The roomers were spotless. The hospitality was fantastic. There's even a fire pit in front of the pool where the owners roast marshmallows at night. No joke. Real deal Americana the way it should be. While automotive themed this is a clean place you can take you wife too. Shell be skeptical but satisfied in the end. Thanks well be back

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davmaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Rooms are huge, much bigger than the big chain motels and Gearhead is themed around muscle cars and motorcycles. Each room has a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee. They also have free Wifi. To be honest, we made a trip 2 weeks before up the Blue Ridge Parkway and stayed at a big chain, Gearhead's pillowtop mattresses were more comfortable than the chain motel's. We plan on staying at Gearhead on all of our future trips to Cherokee, NC. It's comfortable and convenient to local attractions and they are biker friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

This hotel is a quaint place to stay. They are still doing renavations to the place but it is looking great. The room we stayed in had a kitchenette and was very spacious. The owners are absolutely wonderful and a delight to be aroun. We have added Mary and Jim to our extended family and hope to stay in touch with them as well as stay there again. We are planning a trip out there in June 2011 as well as in November 2011 and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SissyT213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
0.8 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
215 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rolling Hills Lodge
Rolling Hills Lodge
#4 of 28 in Cherokee
125 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
0.8 mi away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
4.8 mi away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#8 of 28 in Cherokee
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gear Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gear Head Inn

Address: 6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-8682
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Price Range: £71 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gear Head Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the greatest cruising country in our nation, the Gear Head Inn is a destination for the young and young-at-heart who have a love affair with the open road. Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains, we are located on State Road 19, between Cherokee and Bryson City. Gear Head Inn is unique in its friendly atmosphere and immaculate,spacious accommodations. You'll feel right at home--here in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gear Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing