We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our third stay was the charm.”
Review of Gear Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gear Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Whittier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Gearhead Inn 3 times this year. We make it our regular stop no matter where we are driving. The "smell of the South" in the shrubbery greats you as you get out of your car. The rooms are very spacious with everything we need to be truly comfortable. The owners are new, the name is new, the theme is new and exciting as each room is themed for the muscle cars of the 50s and 60s. Jim and Mary have worked to restore this motel to it's original condition. The past visit included our adult children and our grand children. Eating by the pool while the kids unwound from our driving trip was an instant pleasure. We were within a few miles of the Smokey Mt National Park entrance; we enjoyed that the next day returning to the Gearhead and the southern hospitality of Jim and Mary. We will definitely return to this special inn again and again.
RnL, Orlando, FL

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmontgomery3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

We spent a night at the Gearhead Inn and would recommend it to those traveling with families. The kids had fun in the pool. Great hospitality from Mary & Jim. It was fun to hear about their plans for the place - can't wait to go back to see all the improvements!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdbcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I'm into cars and motorcycles and there are enough great car and motorcycling roads to explore a different one each day for a week. And the nightly campfire is a great place to kick tires and swap lies with two really knowledgeable car buffs (owners Jim and Mary). Restaurants are a few miles away though (The Bar-B-Que Wagon‎ and Jimmy Mac's Restaurant‎ are two of the best and worth the visit).
They are constantly improving what was obviously a motel in need of tLC (they were replacing doors while we were there). The car and MC themes are different for each room but they are keeping a 60s retro look which includes large rooms with high ceilings, a step back to when motor lodges were king, nice nostalgia. Quiet clean rooms and helpful owners
what more can you ask for? Oh yeah reasonable rates too. I'll be back.,

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrizzledTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

For the money wow!... and tucked away and quiet setting is so pleasurable for a weekend away with family and friends. We talked to the owners and they are still in the works of getting things updated and changed even more than what they have already done. The rooms are bigger than the high dollar places for 1/2 the price. You ARE close to all the smokie mountain parks and roads. Easy to get to and nice and clean. The wood work in the rooms were so nostalgic ! ! Goes with the area, unlike ANY of the new places !!!! The room we were in was nice! windows on each side gives you a breeze without the air conditioning. We really did enjoy our stay and would tell any of our friends to stay there anytime of year. The family who owns it live right there and will help you with anything you might need or need to know. We WILL be going back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funtimes015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Very excited about the changes at the "GearHead Inn." Beds are comfortable and pillows terrific! A work in progress but looking forward to the future improvements here and can't wait to return to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adcveykus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

We did not actually sleep in this hotel. One look in the rooms and we turned around and headed for another hotel. I am not sure who has been rating this hotel before (I think it is the owners and not actual customers). They told us it had been newly renovated and now had a old car and motorcycle theme. If you call putting a Harley-Davidson bedspread on a bed a renovation then... This place is run-down, smells of cat urine and mold, and the door and door handle are falling apart. My 13-yr-old could have kicked it in. Even if you are traveling on a budget, there are nicer hotels than this for the same price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank familystay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank monikaroesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary F, Owner at Gear Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whittier hotels
5.5 mi away
The Chalet Suites Boutique Hotel
4.6 mi away
Sunset Farm Cabins
Sunset Farm Cabins
#5 of 9 in Whittier
28 reviews
3.1 mi away
Qualla Cabins and Motel
Qualla Cabins and Motel
#2 of 9 in Whittier
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fort Wilderness RV Park and Campground
Show Prices

Been to Gear Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gear Head Inn

Address: 6280 Ela Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-8682
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Whittier
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gear Head Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the greatest cruising country in our nation, the Gear Head Inn is a destination for the young and young-at-heart who have a love affair with the open road. Surrounded by the Great Smoky Mountains, we are located on State Road 19, between Cherokee and Bryson City. Gear Head Inn is unique in its friendly atmosphere and immaculate,spacious accommodations. You'll feel right at home--here in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gear Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing