We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience!”

Mountain Bear Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whittier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mountain Bear Cabins
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great experience!”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed at Bear Necessities last weekend. We had a little trouble paying because we don't have US credit cards, but everything was OK in the end. We took our friends, so had two couples, and drove up from Atlanta after work, so arrived after 10 p.m. Finding the cabin in the dark was interesting to say the least, but we worked it out from the directions in the end.

The cabin itself was just perfect for our needs, and the view is superb - looking straight out to the Smoky Mountains. We stoked up the fire at night, and had a wonderful evening. The spa on the deck is great, and the cabin itself well stocked and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChermside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cfnunez3
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Amazing. We had a great time. Reservations were a breeze. People were very pleasant to work with. Directions were simple enough. Although it could sleep up to 6, we vacationed on our own and had our dogs with us. It was more than enough. Far enough away, but close enough to run out and grab something you might've forgotten. The place was IMMACULATE when we arrived. We cooked out, relaxed in the hot tub & hiked. We loved it and look forward to our 2nd visit.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cfnunez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband and I stayed at "Bear Necessities" in October of 2005 for our honeymoon. I cannot rave about this chalet enough. The house itself is charming with well landscaped yard. And believe me when I tell you that this cabin is private! I live in Tennessee and the cabins are right on top of each other. Not so with "Bear Necessities!" This cabin is virtually on it's own and the view is spectacular!

In addition, the cabin is well appointed with cozy beds, a modern kitchen, roomy hot tub, and relaxing Jacuzzi in front of a picture window. We also enjoyed the close comforts of Dillsboro, Bryson City, Sylva, and Cherokee.

I hope we can go back soon! I actually cried when we left.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easrsquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lily Lake Ilinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Even though we stayed here last September 2008, this vacation will always be very special to my husband and I. The cabin was perfect - we stayed in the loft since it was a bit bigger and more fun! Mornings on the deck watching the mountains and then off we went to discover the Smokies. We always tried to get back in time to watch the sun set and then to the hot tub to ease our sore muscles. Campfires every night too. I've been telling everyone I know about this place, my brother and sister in law are hoping to book a trip and my niece is getting married in 2010 so this would be a great honeymoon place. Loved it.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2009

Girlfriends' weekend for hiking in the Smokies plus a little luxury at the end of the day. The Bear Necessities cabin is furnished for comfort and with lots of style. The kitchen is well equipped and the mountain views from the dining area., the living area, the deck, the master bedroom, are endless. After a long day of hiking, we hurried to the cabin to watch the sun go down while relaxing in the fabulous hot tub. Our only regret was not being able to stay longer! Making reservations was very easy and Bob Williams was very attentive, sharing recommendations for local restaurants and hiking venues. We will be back again!

  • Liked — Two words - hot tub! And the wireless internet was great too.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smokyscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Norman, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2008

This is our staple mountain vacation. We live in the Charlotte area and it's so easy and fast for us to get to. We are going back in June 08 for a 4th relaxing stay.

Great bang for the buck!! Being so close to the NC mountains, we have stayed at over a dozen mountain cabins, and this is a steal! We stay here once a year and try another place once a year in the NC mountains.

"Bear" is in great shape, BIG views, and on top of the mountain. Views are amazing and you feel alone out there except for a little distant road noise, which would be the only negative. Also, maybe something to shut out the sun in the upstairs bedroom windows would be nice for the morning. Folks, I am being picky here!

The place is packed with anything you need and everything is in great shape. It has a warm feeling and the view from the hottub with a glass of whatever will sooth the mind. A morning hottub and tea is also the bomb! The only thing we bring is food, drink, and my fav cooking pan and knife. (You don't need to bring pans, I am just picky). We simply go up and stay until our vacation ends. No need to leave if you want to chill!

It sleeps two couples perfect, and there is a little loft room off of the guest room for kids. In sum, it really is a two bedroom and one of the bedrooms has attached a big closet/sleeping area for kids.

Don't be fooled by places claiming big views in NC, this one is one that delivers it for a good price. You feel alone out there as far as neighbors. It's easy to get to, though be careful not to make wrong turns going up the mountain since the directions don't mention several questionable turns/forks.

I ask that you keep this one secret!!!! :-)

Bryan, Collette, & Casey

  • Liked — Views, access, price, clean, location
  • Disliked — morning sun when not wanted
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladsy Island, SC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2007

If you want to rent a cabin in this area, you really need to look at the above link. I have stayed at this companies cabins before and they are great. Spring 2007 we stayed in Bear Necessities. It is located near both Dillsboro and Cherokee. It has a fantastic north view over a beautiful valley and you can see many other mountain peaks. Sunset can also be enjoyed from the west proch while sunrise can be taken in by the master bedroom porch. Gravel road entrance but it is worth the extra effort because of the private location at the end of the road. Cabin is beautiful inside and out. Cabins are in excellent condition and very, very clean with top of the line amenities. The owner, Bob Williams, really cares about his customers and goes out of his way to assure your visit is the best it can be. If you want a carefree rental experience with no surprises this is the company to rent from. He gives discounts to return guest. We are returning in Oct., 2007 for ten more days at Bear Necessity.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needed more lighting in living room for reading purpose.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittier
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus River Escape Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Sylva Dillsboro Area
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Sylva
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sylva-Western Carolina Area
7.5 mi away
Two Rivers Lodge
Two Rivers Lodge
#3 of 10 in Bryson City
210 reviews
3.1 mi away
Blue Ridge Inn
Blue Ridge Inn
#2 of 3 in Sylva
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Bear Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Bear Cabins

Property: Mountain Bear Cabins
Address: 1739 High Top Mountain Rd, Whittier, NC 28789-6200
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Whittier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Whittier
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing