We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When you get that Italian craving you won't go wrong here”

Amalfi's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Wilkesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Since 2002, Amalfi's Restaurant & Pizzeriabring to Wilkes County a traditional flavor of mediterranean cuisine, using the finest and freshest products, like seafood, vegetable, poultry, and meats. We welcome you in a real Italian atmosphere. Buon Appetito!
Restaurant details
Description: Since 2002, Amalfi's Restaurant & Pizzeriabring to Wilkes County a traditional flavor of mediterranean cuisine, using the finest and freshest products, like seafood, vegetable, poultry, and meats. We welcome you in a real Italian atmosphere. Buon Appetito!
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
78 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“When you get that Italian craving you won't go wrong here”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Considering that this restaurant is located far away from any Italian enclave, the food is very authentic and quite good. We've been to Amalfi's dozens of times and have never had a bad meal. The menu has a lot of variety so there's bound to be something that appeals to everyone. Don't expect innovation; this is just good Italian family food. The fare tends toward the Neapolitan but there are some white dishes if you prefer that. The lasagna is excellent. I also love the eggplant parm, the veal parm, and the fettucine alfredo. I don't think the pasta is homemade but I probably wouldn't know the difference. Amalfi's yeast rolls are very tasty. The side salads are a little small, however. The prices are a good value but not rock-bottom cheap. If you are dining at peak times you should expect crowds and a wait of up to 45 minutes to be seated. The interior decor is pleasingly Italianesque but the place is busy with steady take-out traffic and a lot of customer buzz, so don't expect a romantic experience. Service is usually good but we seldom see the same waitperson twice, and have occasionally had lengthy delays between ordering and receiving our meal. (DISCLAIMER: I have never ordered their pizza. I believe that if you are going out for a sit-down dinner you should treat yourself to a more complete meal.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We go for the bread!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The food is good and reasonably priced. I frequently have the vegetarian lasagna and my husband likes the calzones, but our favorite part of the meal is the bread that is served with olive oil and spices or butter as soon as you are seated. They have a well-varied menu. The service is good, and the staff is professional and friendly. We also sometimes call in pizza to go.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneW538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent across the board”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were driving back from skiing at Sugar and made it to Wilkesboro without having eaten lunch and it was 2 pm. We drove down the main street - nothing but mediocre chain restaurants. Turned in and started up past the strip malls and ran across Amalfi's. What luck! Place was great. Four of us ate lunch for $24 plus tip. The waitress Tasha was fantastic, super efficient and friendly. Whatever they pay her isn't enough. Food was great - Caesar salad and tomato soup. Kids had pizza and my wife had another soup. They bring out bread and olive oil too. It was delicious. Nice atmosphere, and if you can believe even the music was even great. Don't think I should go back though - don't think it could be as good as this visit was. It's an individually owned restaurant. Guy's name is Tony. Must really know what's he doing. I told the waitress Tasha that everything was real good, just perfect, and she said she hears that all the time. Place was had a fair amount of business at 2:30 in the afternoon and that ought to say something.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wireless200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

After reading the reviews, I thought this was going to be a great meal. We opted for the sicilian style cheese pizza, and the white clam sauce pasta. The pizza was great, nice thick dough with generous amounts of cheese. The pizza sauce was okay, nothing spectacular. The white clam pasta though was very disappointing. It hardly had much of a taste to it, and the clams themselves tasted a bit old. We were also disappointed that an Italian place had run out of Caesar salad dressing…how does that happen? The decor is nice, and the staff was friendly, and the prices were reasonable. It could be we just got unlucky with a bad dish, but if you do try this place then I would say stick with the pizza - it was good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My family visits Amalfi's every time we visit Wilkesboro. We've never had a bad male and the service is great as we'll.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amalfi's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria also viewed

Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
 
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
 
Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Amalfi's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing