We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“country cooking at its best!”

Shamrock Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 27 Restaurants in Williamston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Winterville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“country cooking at its best!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

absolutely the best fried chicken and cabbage in the world!!! the buffet is a treat with multiple offerings..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food good.........but service terrible.........never again”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were part of a tour group that dined there recently. My wife and I placed our orders. Then we waited forever for our meals. Finally when our meals arrived, nearly every one else in our group had finished and gotten on the bus. And when we received our meals, the waitresses were very rude: did not apologize, explain why, nor in any way try to accommodate us for the long wait. Also, as my wife and I were eating there by ourselves, the waitresses started clearing our table around us, completely ignoring us, never asking about our meals or anything. Later, the restaurant owner was contacted about our situation. He tried to explain that our long wait was because I had ordered a chicken entre that takes 20 minutes to prepare. However, he did state that it was the waitresses responsibility to inform me of the long cooking time, which they did not. And if the cooking time were the reason for our long wait, well, my wife, who had ordered a completely different entre, was served after I was-explain that. Food may have been okay, but service was terrible. We will never return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TourTrvl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great DOWN HOME SOUTHERN Cooking!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Southern cooking and hospitality, at its BEST! Driving through, having to stay the night. This restaurant was across the street from where we were staying. Had read the fried chicken was the BEST! We always eat dinner, early, so it wasn't at all crowded. Clean, comfortable place. Greeted by friendly people that apparently were the owners. Fast service. Nice menu. Asked what is the best and was told several things that are popular. We both had the fried chicken which ABSOLUTELY was the BEST I've ever had. Crisp! Cole slaw was very nice, being fixed differently than I'd had before (had pickle relish) really good! Prices were family friendly, too! Will definitely go out of our way, if in the area again, to go back to the SHAMROCK!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Even though it was very late we were not rushed, all of the staff was very kind. The deserts were wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank A_V_Wedding_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Get there early”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The food is really good, but we got there about 30minutes before the lunch buffet closed and they had stopped restocking it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shamrock Restaurant also viewed

Williamston, North Carolina Coast
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
 
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
Williamston, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Shamrock Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing