We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your camera!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Williamston B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bring your camera!”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

In May of this year, my wife and I set out for a long awaited vacation. We lodged at many B&Bs along the East Coast. Two of those nights were at the Big Mill while we toured the Outer Banks. Our suite (Mardi Gras) was actually much better than the photos depicted. We were delighted to find spacious rooms, fabulous views and great breakfast. The inn keeper (and owner) was knowledgeable of the area and made sure that our visit at both at her estate, and NC, was enjoyable. It was amazing to me the great amount effort Chloe put forth to assure our visit was just good, but GREAT. If you are considering a B&B, don’t miss this one. And bring a camera…you’ll see what I mean when you get there!

Room Tip: Chloe seems to accomodate most reasonable request. Dont be afraid to ask if you have a question...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marywvo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
73
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We went to Merchants Millpond to kayak then drove back to stay at Big Mill. We don't often stay at B and B's because we own a gallery and talk to people all day long so when we travel we tend to keep to ourselves. So we were trilled when we arrived at this charming B and B. It's a family farm and the rooms are in the out buildings. We stayed in the PackHouse suite. Which had a full kitchen. The livingroom/diningroom/kitchen was a large room furnished with everything you could want. Breakfact was delivered the evening before, lots of yummy food. So we were able to get up and eat on our own. The grounds are beautiful and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: loved the packhouse, big 3 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed for one night during our snowbird migration north. The location was quiet and peaceful, but not far from town. The room was very large and beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Chloe made our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Big Mill Bed and Breakfast for three nights while doing some genealogy research at the Register of Deeds offices in Williamston (Martin County) and nearby Windsor (Bertie County). We also visited the Martin County Historical Society library at the Martin County Community College and the public library in Windsor.

The Big Mill B&B is in a very pleasant and attractive rural location. Adjacent and also across the street are carefully landscaped ponds. The pond across the street has a wooden foot bridge and is part of a memorial park in honor of a local woman. The main house of the B&B is fairly modern looking, at least from the outside, but we stayed in the Corn Crib room in the old barn, which still looks like a barn from the outside but has several modern rooms built into it. When we were there it was possible to leave the windows open at night, and we were awakened by the birds and other critters rustling about in the morning, a pleasant difference for those of us who live in colder climates and/or too near cities to keep the windows open most of the year. There were barn swallows nesting in the barn breezeway just outside our door.

The innkeeper, Chloe, is very pleasant and helpful. She reminded us of a high school friend of my wifes who we still keep in touch with. The room was clean and pleasant, with old pine wood floors and Mexican tiles for countertops. It is like a small studio apartment, with a bed and bathroom toward the rear, and a kitchenette and living room area near the door.

The eating arrangements are different from most inns. Chloe prepares your breakfast items the day before and brings them to your room around 5-7 PM each day. Each day there was a serving of a small quiche for each of us, which she placed in the refridgerator and we then reheated in the microwave in the morning. There were also breads and fruits that changed from day to day, homemade jams, and either homemade granolas or servings of yoghurt. She puts pitchers of juice and milk in the fridge. There is a coffee maker and three jars containing different brands of ground coffee for you to make yourself. All the food was good, and sometimes more than we could eat. We ended up taking the granola with us and eating it later on our trip.

This arrangement has pros and cons. For people like us, who tend to stay up late and have trouble getting started in the morning, one can eat breakfast when you are ready, rather than have to make an effort to keep to the innkeeper's breakfast schedule. On the other hand, you don't get to meet and talk to the other guests. It worked well for us.

All the amenities were fine. The TV was a wide screen TV with plenty of channels. The WiFi worked fine once we figured out that the password for the rooms in the barn that was listed on the sheet in the room was wrong and that we should use the same password as for the main house. There is a big closet, although it is a bit hidden away inside the bathroom area. Soaps, towels, cleanliness, etc., were all fine. When the rooms are cleaned and made up each day, your breakfast dishes are also cleaned and put away.

We had a nice stay, would recommend it to friends, and would stay again if we ever have need to visit Williamston again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We only stayed one night, but would have loved to stay longer! Chloe made everything feel so personal. Our price was less expensive than the hotels we stayed in while on our trip and they didn't even compare in comfort, or charm. The breakfast was delicious! My favorites were the zucchini bread and the granola. I bought a mug there, and I love sitting on my deck in the morning, drinking my coffee and thinking about our trip. We hope to go back sometime. Thanks, Chloe!!!

Room Tip: The Mardi Gras room was perfect for us. I was with my grandmother and daughter, so we had two beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Fantastic getaway and special mother and daughter time. I took my 9 year old for a quick relaxing escape and we loved it. Chloe was the perfect hostess and even shared with my young daughter all about her life growing up on the farm. Chloe even showed her how to spin wool into yarn! Our room was lovely, food delicious and we promised to go back again soon. The rooms are delightful and well furnished with lots of amenities, even though I did not bring work (hence the word escape) there is WiFi in all the rooms. We did not get to fish the pond this trip so my daughter is looking forward to doing so next round since Chloe's nephew promised to show her all the best spots!

Room Tip: Any room, they are all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a lovely March weekend -- it rained but since the Pack House was so delightful we didn't care. The breakfasts were scrumptious and Chloe an attentive but also discrete hostess. This is a great jumping off point for Somerset Place, Lake Matamuskeet, Edenton and area wineries. We brought our bikes (it was raining too hard!) and also enjoyed the Sunnyside Oyster Bar -- an easy trip from Durham and extremely recommended... Thank you, Chloe!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabiolaPal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamston
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
357 reviews
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#2 of 6 in Williamston
41 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#1 of 3 in Plymouth
81 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
64 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#1 of 7 in Washington
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1607 Big Mill Rd, Williamston, NC 27892-8032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Williamston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Mill Bed & Breakfast sits amid acres of farmland and forest in the quiet coastal plain of eastern North Carolina about two hours from Raleigh and Norfolk. Featured as one of North Carolina's best botanical B&B's, this romantic getaway has over 200 acres to roam. Minutes from major highways- a perfect stopover to the Outer Banks. Wireless Internet, kitchens, private entrances and commanding lake views ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing