We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED IT--Our third visit!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Williamston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“LOVED IT--Our third visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

First off, let me say that my Fiance and I have visited Big Mill three times and have LOVED our experience every time. Chole is absolutely fantastic! We are always greeted with a warm smile from her and her staff every visit! We have stayed in almost every room here at the Big Mill and each room is SO BEAUTIFUL!! Its rustic design and comfy elegance makes the Big Mill such a special retreat for my Fiance and I. The grounds are extremely peaceful and relaxing not to mention beautifully kept.

Next, the breakfast is immaculate! I'm always eager to see what the next day's breakfast will be! Homemade breakfast bakes, quiches, fruit, granola, orange juice, and milk! We are so full from breakfast we normally can't finish our meals! Not to forget, Chole's homemade jams. Those are heaven in a cup!

All in all, Big Mill has such a special place in hearts from its warm and kind greetings, to the fantastic breakfast, and beautiful decorated rooms. I feel so at home here that we never want to leave! If you haven't already, give Big Mill a try, you wont be let down! We have NEVER been!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLaneSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
70
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

My friend and I stayed in the Cedar suite for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. Chloe, the owner, could not have been nicer or more accomodating. She brought our breakfast TO THE ROOM each evening at 5 pm for the next morning, as we had a kitchenette with fridge, sink, microwave, toaster, dinnette set in our room. The manicured grounds with ponds, farm houses, bridges, and crop fields are gorgeous, and I felt like I was refreshed and cared for.

Room Tip: The Cedar room is the largest...more like an apartment. French doors close off the bedroom from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilljax9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Big Mill is just lovely! We live in a historic home so many b & b's are not particularly attractive as vacation destinations for us. But Big Mill's pretty farm grounds and rustic but elegant atmosphere made for a great 2 night stay as we took a short vacation around the small town historical sites of Eastern NC. We stayed in the Corn Crib--an efficient space with all the amenities we could ask for. Chloe is welcoming, a good storyteller, and makes a dandy breakfast delivered the evening before. One of our favorite parts was pulling a couple of Adirondack chairs out onto the green lawn overlooking the ponds to eat that breakfast when we were ready... in our pajamas and enjoying the peace of the NC summer morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbpersuasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

I had a wonderful stay last week. Chloe is a wonderful and thoughtful host. The room was comfortable and inviting, the grounds were beautiful, and visiting with Chloe was just terrific. We were on our way to Ocracoke Island anticipating a peaceful and relaxing vacation and the Big Mill Inn was the perfect start to our vacation. This place has it all. Clean and beautiful rooms, and wonderful host, delicious food, and a great place to relax. We look forward to coming back again sometime.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and cared for. Chloe exudes warmth and hospitality. She is so down to earth and loves sharing her family farm with guests. She prepared a fabulous breakfast each day and delievered it to our suite. My husband and I are moving from Orlando to Greenville...even though the inn was 28 miles away, it was worth the drive each day. You are literally out in the country with fresh air, birds, and flower, vegatable and berry gardens (you will see items from her garden in your breakfast - yummy and fresh).

The sound machine in the bedroom was a nice treat - as were all the small thoughtful touches we found. This is not a stuffy or stiff inn, but rather a comfortable, relaxed inn lets you release all your cares and worries at the door.

We will definately be back again when we need a quite, renewing weekend!

Room Tip: Reserve the Packhouse Suite - So spacious, airy, and insanely comfortable!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kconn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our experience at the Big Mill was perfect. The attention to every detail that Chloe has provided did not go unnoticed from us. There was bug spray outside for us so we could enjoy the evening talking outside. The full size kitchen was used to heat the fantastic breakfast she provided the night prior. The assortment of coffees, juice, milk... And falling asleep with the sound machine she provided. The grounds are beautiful and brought back memories of my grandparents farm. I hope to return soon for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dees1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

We have been waiting for a few years to be able to head from our home in northwestern MD to eastern NC for a relaxing weekend (our daughter graduated from High Point University in central NC in '10 - too, too far away from Williamston!). We were NOT disappointed! Chloe welcomed us at the front porch and we fell in love with her immediately. She is everything that an innkeeper should be - kind, giving, generous, warm, gracious, there when you need her but out of sight most of the time (except when we would see her running breakfast trays to all the rooms in the early evening!), full of fascinating stories and just an all around phenomenal woman! Her B&B is everything we were looking for - after a crazy few weeks at work, my husband was able to get Friday off for a long weekend trip, so I made reservations - The Mardi Gras Suite was the only room left -and we were not disappointed. He had computer work to do over the weekend, so the cafe table was perfect for his laptop. We happened to go on one of the most heat oppressive weekends (heat index over 110 degrees!) we had ever experienced, so we spent most of our time enjoying our suite. The beds were SO comfortable, the pine floor in the bedroom was gorgeous and the shiny brick floor in the living room was just so interesting and cool (why did I bring my slippers?), nothing like well water for a nice cool shower, the wall decorations and wall paintings were a special touch, the chaise was perfect to read my KINDLE in, and the table, chairs and umbrella and then the small memorial pond and hanging wicker loveseat right outside our French doors were just so special to look at (too hot to enjoy breakfast outside each morning). We don't know why Chloe calls her breakfasts "continental plus," as they were fruit skewers, sweet breads, two kinds of quiche, and fresh juice and milk each morning -so very filling that we didn't eat lunch each afternoon. We spent one evening after dinner in town, walking all around the spectacular grounds; we saw the outbuildings where the other rooms are, we saw Chloe's flower and vegetable gardens, we were fascinated by the cotton fields next door, the lake was beautiful, the hammock looked inviting if not for the heat (!), all the metal geckos climbing the building walls were adorable as were the "whirlygigs" placed around the grounds, and her brother lives across the road and he has done up his grounds in the most unbelievably stunning way - and all are welcome to go over there and walk around and take pictures! We took a total of 400 pictures while at Big Mill and all around Williamston, so I can't wait to start scrapbooking! We have stayed at luxurious inns all over New England, but we will take an enjoyable looooong weekend (at least 3 nights next time!!) at Big Mill over those stuffy inns any day! I got a quick chance to meet her 18 year old precious cat named Moses - she gave me a "meow" as soon as I started talking to her (Yes, "she" is a "she")!! I just wanted to take her home!! All the flowers and vines growing everywhere were a beautiful touch, as were the white Christmas lights we saw around the place at night (esp the large star on the wall of one of the other buildings)!! Last but not least, I thought this was so cute and so inviting - Chloe had an Italian chef holding a chalkboard (about 3-4' tall) right outside her front door, and on it, she had a written welcome for every person/couple staying at the B&B that weekend. We saw that before we even met Chloe and knew right away that she was going to be OUR kind of an innkeeper! We can't wait for our next visit as Big Mill B&B and Chloe are now our favorites. Take care Chloe and Moses!!! :-)
Joe and Gayle
Gaithersburg, MD

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are in various outbuildings on this spectacular 200 acre farm out in the country. Each r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamston
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#3 of 6 in Williamston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Williamston
Days Inn Williamston
#4 of 6 in Williamston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1607 Big Mill Rd, Williamston, NC 27892-8032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Williamston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Mill Bed & Breakfast sits amid acres of farmland and forest in the quiet coastal plain of eastern North Carolina about two hours from Raleigh and Norfolk. Featured as one of North Carolina's best botanical B&B's, this romantic getaway has over 200 acres to roam. Minutes from major highways- a perfect stopover to the Outer Banks. Wireless Internet, kitchens, private entrances and commanding lake views ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing