We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"taste a little piece of heaven on earth"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Williamston B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"taste a little piece of heaven on earth"”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I was looking for a quiet peaceful, and safe area to stay during my 13 weeks on business contract with the State of North Carolina. This is my first time staying at a bed and breakfast and writing a review of any kind but Ms. Chloe, the inner taker of Big Mill bed and breakfast, NC, deserve all the credit. This place is awesome. Rooms and bedding smell so fresh and clean. I love to have my own private suite, entrance, and park close. This is so much better that staying in a hotel! Ms. Chloe is excellent very professional and always within reach if you need anything including directions, places to go for fun, shopping or restaurants. I highly recommend staying at this place. Thank you Ms. Chloe

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
73
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We spent one night here, on our way from PA to Ocracoke, NC. I picked Big Mill after reading the reviews, and we were not disappointed. On the contrary, this place is a jewel in the piney coastal plain of NC. The house itself is charming, and we were greeted with a welcome message on the chalkboard by the front door. Chloe is very low-key and welcoming, and gave us a tour of the lovely grounds, which included a lighted arbor, a pond, sitting areas amidst fountains and mature pecan trees, all next to an expansive cotton field. Our suite was charming, spacious and pleasant, with all the amenities (although the wifi connection was a bit weak). The breakfast was outstanding -- quiche and homemade bread, jam, granola, and fruit with figs from the garden.

I only wish we had had more nights there, to enjoy the grounds more, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeredithinPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I just made our 6th visit to Big Mill, and we are already looking for a date on the calendar to return! We checked in with Chloe on Friday night, and she showed us to our private suite. Saturday we stopped by the farmer's market, walked along the dock, saw where the river runs into the ocean, and had ice cream at Scoops. We enjoyed relaxing in our suite, where Chloe's attention to detail makes everything about Big Mill a magical work of art, nature, and beautiful craftsmanship. Per her suggestion on the web site, we went to Turnage Theater that evening for a family bluegrass and folk music concert. The band was so talented and fun to sing along with. This weekend recharged our batteries and provided still more special and romantic memories we now have at Big Mill. Something Chloe had added since our visit in February was the restoration of the massive grape arbor on the farm. It is breathtaking at night with twinkling lights intermingled with the vines, and in the midday, a cool, shady spot to sit and read book. As always, breakfast was delicious! Thank you for such a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different suites here, and Each suite is unique, private, and very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Tranquility, serenity, endless enjoyment from all the little - big treats we were exposed to, if you don't try it yourself- you wouldn't know what we are talking about...
Thank you Chloe for a wonderful memories Sofia and Stela

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aviyaayalahaver .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

What a beautiful B&B! We had a very quiet and relaxing time. Chloe is wonderful! We stayed during hurricane Arthur and she came out to our rooms once to check to see if we wanted to wait the storm out in the main house and then a second time to give us candles and a flashlight in case the generator did not come on. Poor thing was soaked! The next day everything was gorgeous. You never knew there was a storm. Her garden was bursting with colors and hummingbirds. The ponds were full. The photo opportunities are endless! Breakfast is brought to your room to be enjoyed on your own time and is delicious. Our cozy room was the corn crib and was spotless. This is definitely a place to return. Chloe is a wonderful innkeeper and really makes you feel at home.

Green Features: Recycling, composting, fresh fruit and vegetables right from the garden, energy efficient and still makes you feel pampered.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a wonderful time during our stay at the Big Mill Bed and Breakfast. Everything was perfect! Our family enjoyed watching the evening primroses blooming and the wonderful breakfast. The jam is so delicious that we had to buy a jar on our way out and after many PBandJ sandwiches and toast its almost gone! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When you come to Big Mill B&B in Williamston NC leave your troubles behind and relax. This welcoming property has everything you could want in a rural, stylish B&B experience. Chloe is a wonderful and welcoming innkeeper and she really knows the area. The room I stayed in was the Corn Crib and it was cozy, beautifully appointed with a love seat and TV area, little kitchen, very comfortable bed area and perfect bathroom with cozy robes and soft towels. The breakfast , delivered the night before, is a lovely touch, very fresh and a great chance to eat in private in those cozy robes! The Primroses gave us quite a show as the sunset and so did the hummingbirds around the gardens. Be sure to put this place on your to-do list!

Room Tip: The Corn Crib is perfect for a couple getaway or a solo time away too!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very green, loved the sheets on the line, so fresh!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamston
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Williamston
Hampton Inn Williamston
#1 of 6 in Williamston
355 reviews
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Williamston
Econo Lodge Williamston
#2 of 6 in Williamston
41 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Williamston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 3 in Plymouth
81 reviews
18.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Plymouth
64 reviews
16.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#1 of 7 in Washington
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Mill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Mill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Big Mill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1607 Big Mill Rd, Williamston, NC 27892-8032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Williamston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Williamston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Mill Bed & Breakfast sits amid acres of farmland and forest in the quiet coastal plain of eastern North Carolina about two hours from Raleigh and Norfolk. Featured as one of North Carolina's best botanical B&B's, this romantic getaway has over 200 acres to roam. Minutes from major highways- a perfect stopover to the Outer Banks. Wireless Internet, kitchens, private entrances and commanding lake views ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing