We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My husband and I were very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Ludlow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My husband and I were very satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

The suite (Queen) was very clean and comfortable for two people on a week long vacation (great rate for 6+ days). Our suite was an end room in the back of the hotel which was extremely quiet. We have been to all inclusive resorts and this hotel with their daily hot breakfast buffet and the evening social meals which included beer and wine (M-Th) sort of reminded me of the freedom that comes with not having to think about where to eat or opening your wallet for every meal. All meals were very good and contained a variey of items to make healthy choices. We usually stay at a Wrightsville Beach hotel with a balcony facing the ocean, which is very pricey. Neither of us missed that aspect as this hotel provided many relaxing areas at its location to "kick back and relax". The location is also convenient to Wrightsville Beach (few miles away). All staff were courteous and accessible when needed. The difference between their price or staying on Shell Island allowed us to fly from MA, rent a car, and still save over $500. An excellent deal, especially with the economy today.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    60
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
88
56
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed for two weekday nights. Refused to honor my Government rate even though I provided my ID and badge to them. The rooms were much smaller then any other Residence Inn we stayed at (and we stayed at many!) The bathroom and bedroom doors would not close all the way. There was what appeared to be feces on the wall in the livingroom. I called and spoke to the front desk clerk who was not helpful at all. She stated that there were no open rooms to switch us to. When we checked out of course they did not discount our stay until I demanded it. The breakfast was not well stocked by the area worker as we waited almost 15 minutes for more sausage and it was not even crowded. They did not have any cooking spray for the self serve waffle maker so everyones waffle was sticking to it. Breakfast overall was subpar to other Residence Inns. We did not try the dinners but it looked ok and others seemed to like it. The hotel had a basketball court with a shredded net and we could not find the putting golf green. It ended up being beyond an outer gate off of the rear parking lot. Kind of odd most other Residence Inns have it in front of the hotel. The pool and pool area was nice and clean. The hotel is kind of out dated and rooms and halls need upgrades. I'm not sure I would consider a return trip here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONBO9503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the beach and that it was pet friendly. We booked the room online and then called the hotel itself and spoke with Dan Kovacic, the General Manager to ask a few questions. After reading some of the reviews about this hotel I wanted to ask for a room with a balcony. Dan said that since I wasn’t a high level preferred guest yet, that my chances for getting a room with a balcony were pretty much none. At least he was honest! I believe there are only about 9 rooms which have the balcony and I think they all may be the studio style (which we didn’t reserve.)

We arrived on July 29 and stayed for a few nights. Will, checked us in and our room wasn’t ready. We only waited about 20 minutes and because we asked for a quiet room (our dog is very noise sensitive) he accommodated us BIG TIME! Thank you Will! Every hotel staff member we encountered, from the front desk personnel to the breakfast ladies, to the housekeeping staff, all were wonderfully helpful and friendly! Any little request was attended to.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom queen suite, I have attached photos. The kitchenette was totally outfitted with pretty much anything you needed from measuring cups to pot holders to paper towels and dishwasher soap. Again, everything was spotless!

The free breakfast was quite good. Items such as oatmeal (with the fixings,) waffles, sausages, eggs, breakfast potatoes, bagels & muffins to fresh fruit, cottage cheese and even yogurt were some of the selections. The hot items were actually hot! Some guests actually showed up for breakfast with their PJ’s on. Coffee was available throughout the day. The reception desk did have a full bowl of fresh fruit at all times! BTW, the hotel directory did state they would do complimentary food shopping for you.

FYI, there is Food Lion and Harris Teeter close by. Since the hotel is set back from the road, you really do not hear any traffic noise. The hotel is situated on the opposite side of the MayFair Town Center. You could walk to Panera Bread and some other eateries.

A putting green is located in the back on the north side of the parking lot. There is plenty of green grass for your dogs. A covered porch area is equipped with rocking chairs and some seating sets to enjoy your breakfast or whatever. Each time we tried to relax on the rocking chairs, guests who needed to smoke used that area. So for non-smokers, this was an amenity that really couldn’t be enjoyed. Every table was accessorized with an ash tray, YUK. There were numerous benches and chairs located throughout the property, along with 2 BBQ grills..

We couldn’t find any beachside hotel that took pets so this hotel was about 1.5 miles away from the beach. It was a quick ride.

We drove downtown to the Cotton Exchange and visited some shops. One evening we dined at The Pilot House, right by the river. I couldn’t quite understand the plastic tablecloths in that restaurant.

We enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall and would return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realtoronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Check in was fast and efficient. Our room was ready with the special request of no feather pillows. The room was clean. The bed was okay - not the most comfortable but good. The pool and hot tub were wonderful and clean. The area around the pool was very clean - sunny and shady areas available and enough seating too. The housekeeping staff were kind and helpful. Our room was very clean every day. We used the putting green - hard to find it - it is out back next to the pond. The breakfast was really good (scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, waffles, muffins, etc). We had dinner there 3 nights and that was nice too especially the bar-b-que dinner. It is within walking distance of two or three shopping centers. The only thing missing in the kitchen is an oven but otherwise it is fully equipped including a full size fridge. We stayed in a studio. There was a mix of couples, families and business guests here. A very clean hotel. We stayed for 5 nights (from July 16th) and we were within driving distance of all kinds of tourist places including several beaches. Thank you Marriott staff for making our vacation at your hotel a very memorable and enjoyable experience. We are telling all our friends to stay at this hotel if they are in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have a view of a wooded area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagspacked123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

There's nothing bad and everything good to say about this place!

The rooms are not luxurious, but very, very clean and well furnished. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. The living area had a nice, large flat screen tv. The hotel was pretty full when we were there but we heard very little noise in the halls or in the rooms beside or above us. There were guests with pets but we hardly ever saw the pets or heard a peep from them.

There is a complete (pretty much anything you can think of--they have it) breakfast offered until 10 am each day. There is a bar where you can buy beer or wine from 5-10 each evening, plus there's a small market in the lobby where you can buy snacks, drinks (juices, sodas, water, milk, beer and wine) and frozen foods. There is a huge bowl of fresh fruit that remained well stocked in the reception area.

While we were there, we had accidentally left the "No Service Please" magnet (what a great idea instead of those flimsy door hangers) on our door. We were pleased that when we returned that evening, the housekeeper had left a huge bag of fresh towels and toiletries hanging on our front door. Not just that, but we had a phone message from the housekeeper apologizing that she was unable to service our room (not even her fault!) and that if we needed anything, to call. Now THAT's good service!

The pool area is delightful. There is a lovely outdoor covered patio area with tables and chairs, rocking chairs and ceiling fans. The pool itself is average size, but the area surrounding it was clean, well kept and there were plenty of lounge chairs. There was also an arbor area which provided a bit of shade beside the pool.

This hotel is located a short 10-12 minute drive to Wrightsville Beach. It's also located across the street from Mayfaire--a new outdoor shopping mall, with many shops and restaurants. We found this location very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostonterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, co
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I went to this hotel with my mother and daughter for a beach trip. The hotel was standard Marriott quality, nothing out of the ordinary. I would definitely recommend it. It's a short 5-10 minute drive to the beach and the hotel staff was nice. Their rate for the weekend was close to $200. Not sure it was worth this much and I got a lower rate, but it depends on how busy of a weekend it is.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Dale, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

This was our second visit and we've had a great stay both times. We travel with our beautiful golden retriever and she loves it there! The landscaping is lovely and the location is terrific for restaurants and shopping. The rooms are very clean and super comfortable. I love having the kitchen even though we didn't cook a thing. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub each evening after dinner and felt super relaxed for a great night's sleep. Very quiet there.

Room Tip: For quiet choose a room away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
2.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall

Property: Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall
Address: 1200 Culbreth Dr, Wilmington, NC 28405-3638
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Landfall Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing