We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Forest City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed several days at the Holiday Inn Express and found it to be excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and fresh. The breakfast was excellent. If you have business in Wilmington, or want to get away to one of the beaches, this is a great place to stay. We were impressed!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review.... We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your next visit.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    72
    43
    19
    5
See reviews for
104
55
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

This was a family with friends "research trip". We are new to North Carolina, so going and explore the beach before the summer was a must. The hotel is very clean and updated. The breakfast was super good even though we had a power outage for 3 hours due to an accident in the area the personnel was very accommodating and had something available all the time. Once the power was restored at 9am approx the warm plates were available fast.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ortiz-fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we take hospitality seriously and we are pleased when guests like you notice. We are looking forward to having you again soon.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a great hotel! The staff is welcoming and very helpful and useful during check-in/out. The rooms were super quiet as well. Great working space and sitting space without being too huge. There are restaurants nearby. Getting into the parking lot can be interesting once you go venture out but it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in _18 are just close enough to the elevator without hearing the actual elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberdiva1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Greetings,

Thanks for taking the time to complete a survey. We love taking care of our guests and we are pleased when it shows.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in 6 different hotels over 7 nights on our trip. By far, this was the nicest one - not even close. The staff was friendly and helpful at every turn. The room was large and comfortable and immaculate. The breakfast was awesome! They had scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits, addictively sinful moist and delicious cinnamon rolls and a great selection of yoghurts and breads. The seating area was roomy and modern too.
The area that the hotel was in is very convenient to lots of things. We were visiting UNC Wilmington and it was less than 5 minutes away but downtown was also just 15 minutes.
The beds were also larger than most and comfortable and had the best pillows!
We highly recommend this hotel as a great value!!!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and we liked that. They have two elevators and luggage carts so it was per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamFam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Greetings,

I have shared your comments with our staff and wish to thank you for your positive view of our hotel. We believe that it takes great people to take care of great guests. Looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

My sister, brother-in-law and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center on our way down to Florida for vacation. We left Maryland ahead of dire predictions for bad weather and drove down to Wilmington as fast as we could. The weather did, indeed, catch up with us. We were able to meet with a friend for a quick dinner, and then the entire city was iced in.

We were expecting to leave the next morning to continue our journey, but the roads were completely impassible. We were able to stay an extra night and continue on -- very gingerly on icy roads -- the following day. The front desk staff, and all the employees we encountered, were helpful and cheerful, making a stressful time for us bearable.

If you have to be stuck in a hotel, this is a good one to be stuck in! We found our rooms to be large and clean. The beds were very comfortable. I was afraid that I would be unhappy with the location of my room across from the elevator and ice/vending machines, but it was really very quiet, in spite of the fact that the hotel was fairly full the first evening. The staff in the breakfast room had braved the weather to come in at 5 AM and get the breakfast ready. It was typical HIE fare, but there was plenty to eat. They were there the next morning as well, and it didn't seem that anything was lacking at all. On top of that, they were extremely pleasant. It couldn't have been easy for them (or anyone on the staff) to have to travel to work on time in those icy conditions.

We were able to walk next door to Walmart to pick up a game, which we played that afternoon in the breakfast room. Warm cookies and fresh coffee were a pleasant addition. We also were able to get to the Cracker Barrel just down the road for a late lunch. They were closing at 5 PM because any ice that had melted during the day would turn into a skating rink as the temperature went down. (And, yes, it did.) There was also a Carrabba's, I believe, next to Cracker Barrel, but they weren't open either day.

Thank you to the staff at HIE for making our extended stay pleasant. I would definitely stop here again if I come to the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Greetings,

Thank you for your kind words. We work very hard to make a difference in everyones stay. People are our greatest asset, both the guests and employees.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I needed a place to rest for the night with enough room for me to park my 18-wheeler and decided to get a room at what turned out to be a wonderful hotel!

When I checked in, I was welcomed by a very nice young lady at the counter.

They may only have one washer and dryer but they did well for me on the first use so I could get my laundry done in a timely manner.

Someone from the maintenance staff wanted to check on an item that they would be ordering a replacement for. That told me they were on top of their game here, making sure it was well kept up!

The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed with a great wi-fi network, which made for a good environment where I could get my articles written on my laptop and submitted for publishing (yes, I also work as a freelance writer).

The only problem I had during my stay was by no fault of the hotel itself- but of a few local people in the area who have an obnoxiously loud exhaust system on their vehicles. With that being said, if you need to sleep well during the daylight hours, request an even-numbered room that's located on the back side of the hotel, away from the surrounding roads.

I accidentally left behind a hard case for my sunglasses and they found it in the room I stayed in. I paid for it to be shipped to my home in Texas and they definitely got it to me in a hurry!

If I'm ever in Wilmington, I will stay here for sure!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TXAgitator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear TXAgitator,

Wow! Thank you for the great compliment! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found everyone to be helpful and courteous. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing and for passing on the tip to other travelers.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Wilmington during your next visit.

Safe Travels,
Steve Janoski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel. The rooms have always been clean and the beds are comfortable. My only complaint from my recent trice is when I walked in the entrance doors at the elevator, I immediately noticed a strong unpleasant odor. The area around the elevators also stunk. This was not a one time thing, every time we came and went the odor was still there. I am not sure it was coming from the housekeeping/laundry or not. There is a definite needs for some automatic air freshers in this area. This is a nice hotel and will stay there again when we are in the Wilmington area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan40509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonNC1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Susan40509,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We love having our repeat guests tell us what they think. We hope you continue staying with us during your visits to Wilmington. Thank you for your suggestion for the automatic air freshener, we have forwarded it to our management company for consideration.

During the time you were here you may have noticed us doing some remodeling. This is expected to be done by the end of this month and by then we will have a great new lobby area to go along with our newly remodeled guest rooms. The smell was coming from different projects of the remodel that were being done around the property and has since gone.

We look forward to you experiencing our new look during your next visit.

Steven Janoski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wilmington
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center
Address: 160 Van Campen Blvd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1621
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#17 Family Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express(R) & Suites Wilmington - University Center offers an ideal location in mid-town Wilmington. Our hotel is less than one mile from the campus of UNC-W. We have great amenities, such as an outdoor pool, complimentary Wi-Fi access and hot breakfast. Corporate guests soon find out why we're one of the best hotels in Wilmington, NC for business travelers, as we offer business work stations with printing capabilities, as well as access to copy and fax services. We have more than 1,600 sq ft of flexible meeting space that will handle groups of up to 80 people. In addition, companies such as General Electric, Corning, Verizon Wireless and PPD are all close to our location. Our hotel is a great place for leisure travelers, too! We're close to the USS North Carolina Battleship and Children's Museum of Wilmington. Families can visit the Cape Fear Museum or explore historic downtown. We're also near Mayfaire Town Center, and some of North Carolina's most beautiful beaches are just seven miles away. While you stay with us, our staff will make sure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay. We serve a complimentary hot breakfast every morning, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls and more. Reserve a room with us today, and you'll see why our guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wilmington - University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Wilmington
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Holiday Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing