We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap...but there are better options in the area”
Review of Super 8 Wilmington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Wilmington
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap...but there are better options in the area”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Stayed there for one night with a great rate. You get what you pay for. The hotel is a little shabby and needs updating. Breakfast bar was just coffee and cereal. Many other better options in the same area.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erntoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    42
    44
    36
    37
See reviews for
56
47
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We wanted a one night budget spot--at 90.00 it was the cheapest for Labor Day Weekend...but...
glad we took our own sheets. White drippings on 2 pieces of furniture (??) Non-smoking floor stunk like cigarettes in the hallway. AC worked, bathroom was updated, bed was comfy, room was quiet...just a little unsure of how clean the comforter & chairs were, so removed comforter & covered with own sheets. If you are ok with that & no frills, then it's the spot for you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LalaW2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McClellandtown, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. I enjoyed our stay very much. The bed was very very comfortable (we both agreed we hadn't slept that well in a LONG time). The location is good, within ten minutes to the beach. It was also close to many restaurants. All in all, we definitely enjoyed ourselves and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

During the Memorial Day weekend, my daughter and I stayed at this hotel. The room was clean and the price was very reasonable...especially for the holiday weekend. The location was convenient to the riverfront as well as other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sa79092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Our daughters soccer team played in Wilmington recently at a local tournament. Needing a place to stay I suggested to one of our team members to make a block reservation for rooms at the Super 8 motel. Having researched the hotel on the internet and called to check rates, we were confident that all would come out well. Once we checked in to the hotel, our confidence quickly disappeared. The front desk clerk who shall remain nameless charged us much more than the rate we were quoted on the phone. When this was pointed out, he promptly shoved his calendar in my face and showed me that the rate he charged me was in fact the rate for the weekend. I had read some reviews that this hotel in particular has had some shall we say "creative" ways to charge rates in the past but did not pay any attention. Please listen to this warning! Do not stay here. They will find a way to milk every dollar they can out of you.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RecGuy2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonNcGem, General Manager at Super 8 Wilmington, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
All the members from the group got the same rate. For two double beds non smoking. He overheard a price quoted to a guest for the following weekend and demanded that price whic is not possible as price to vary. We hope this will clarify the matter. All the other memebers were happy with the discounted rate that was offered thus a group contract was set up on these basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Pines, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Speedy Service. Excellent customer service.
15 min away from beach, 20 min away from clubs.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rico2DaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonNcGem, Manager at Super 8 Wilmington, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
We would like to thank you for taking the time out to comment on your stay at the motel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again next time you are in Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Micheal answers the phone, I tell him I am looking for a weekly rate from the 8th to 15th of May and I need to set a reservation. Micheal replies,"There is plenty of room no need to make a reservation you are fine, just come on in on the 8th". I told Micheal that I would rather make a reservation my mother is disabled, explained to him that I was coming down from Winston and what if something happened. "Oh no, there is plenty of room," he replies. My disabled mothers train gets delayed 3hours coming into Fayetteville and it we take the 2 hour ride to Wilmington. Upon arrival there is a no vacancy sign on the front desk and Micheal says there is no room. I remind him we talked on the phone,"you said no problem" I called corporate that very second, because Super 8 is independently owned there is nothing she can do. I cannot believe it! Now we are 300 miles from home and no where to stay! He did mention that I could come back the 9th and he would have plenty of room. I am thinking I have heard that before! But where do I stay tonight?? Thanks Micheal you are totally unprofessional!

Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank niacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilmingtonNcGem, Manager at Super 8 Wilmington, responded to this review, 18 May 2010
In response to the comment, we were willing to take your resevation but we did needa credit card to hold and we had specified that the cancelation policy had passed. Thus on these terms you were not willing to make a resevation. At the time of calling we did have plenty of rooms but throughout the day, we had plenty of walk-ins. Based on this my front desk clerk did mention that it is the summer weekend, but you wanted to take the risk of walking in and taking your chances. But, we do apologise for any misunderstanding or inconvience this may have caused you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Wilmington
Quality Inn Wilmington
#33 of 44 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#35 of 44 in Wilmington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#24 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
#41 of 44 in Wilmington
2.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay of Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wilmington

Property: Super 8 Wilmington
Address: 3604 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28403-1326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Super Eight
Wilmington Super 8
Super Eight Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing