We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay for the money!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Stay for the money!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Very pleased with the location and price. It was in a good location that was easy to get to downtown as well as the beach. There are plenty of restaurants and shopping just outside of the hotel. The price was very fair. I would definitely stay their again on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We're glad you felt you received good value for your money and found our location convenient for you to get around Wilmington! We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in town, thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    139
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
187
112
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We returned to this hotel (in early Dec. 2013) because visits in previous years - pre BW - had provided such excellent experience and value. This time we had repeated problems with malfunctioning electronic locks, both in the door to the room and at the parking lot entry door. Being locked out of the hotel on a rainy night is a memorable experience. Replacement keys were equally unreliable. Staff was helpful and apologetic. By now (early January) the problem should have been fixed weeks ago. Study the more recent reports carefully before booking! My review is incomplete because the categories don't provide for a single defect of such importance in an otherwise apparently well-managed hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Excellent clean facility with great breakfast. The location is located near all that Wilmington, NC offers. Location is close to the bus depot which arrives and departs for Amtrak. Location is in walking distance of shopping and dining.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Nancy S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western Plus. I'm happy to hear you had an excellent stay all-around and we're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board. We can't wait to see you the next time you're in Wilmington! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
285 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The interior of the hotel has been renovated. Big plus. The room I stayed in was clean, with a new flat-screen new bedding too. Breakfast was included and had some hot options that were rotated daily. Not bad at all. Coffee was always available in the waiting area and the front desk was friendly and on point.

House keeping was very polite and honored some personal requests that I had regarding my room. (I can be fussy when staying more than one or two nights at any hotel.) Location was great! Literally in the middle of everything. No matter what direction I went in, I either ran into the downtown area, shopping, or a beach. Just great for the weary traveler who does not want to drive forever to take in the sights, only to drive back 'forever' to get back to a hotel.

Bottom line: worth every penny I spent.

Room Tip: Parking in the rear of the building is less crowded and sometimes the front desk puts out fresh bake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyPA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear MissyPA71,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us; we're glad to hear it was a great one! I'm happy that you enjoyed our look so much as well as the amenities we offer, as well as that our location was great for your needs. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Only stayed one night but the staff were all very helpful and friendly. It was in a great location, close to the River Front and to Wrightsville Beach. Plus, a lot of shopping very close and close to the college, which was the reason to be there, to visit family in college. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank KTF89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear KTF89,

We appreciate you reviewing our hotel and are delighted you had a great stay and found our staff so friendly and helpful. I hope you had a nice visit at UNC Wilmington and we can't wait to see you the next time you're in town! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We like this hotel because of it location with easy access to the highway. The rooms are nicely decorated. The TV has many stations and the sleep timer works. The in-room heaters work well and are actually quiet. The in-room WiFi works well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Deputydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Deputydot,

We appreciate you reviewing our Best Western Plus and are glad you had a great stay and that our location was well-suited for your needs. Thanks for your high ratings and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I visit Wilmington, NC, several times a year and enjoy staying at different hotels to see if they match the reviews. Well, my 4-day stay at this facility was wonderful! I selected it from the travel sites because of its very good rate and the pics. This hotel was taken over by a new management team a year. The whole place was totally renovated from top to bottom. The results are outstanding. The lobby is handsome and cozy and has an invigorating scent of wood and cleanliness. I was whisked through check-in and found my room to be beautifully furnished and supplied with a HD flat-screen TV, nice toiletries, a microwave and fridge. Each morning the hot breakfasts were delightful: cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, etc. with the usual boiled eggs, pancakes, juices. For meals, right next door is a big IHOP. Turn right after exiting and there are oodles of eating places: Olive Garden, McDonalds, Bojangles, etc. This hotel is right in the epicenter of all the major highways and interstates. This is a fantastic gem that totally satisfied me and made me comfortable. This is my new home away from home. Am looking forward to checking in again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank IgetaroundWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear IgetaroundWilmington,

Thanks so much for your kind words regarding your stay and we're very happy you enjoy our brand new look. We are grateful for your high ratings across the board and are glad you liked our complimentary breakfast and other amenities so much - and are delighted we've succeeded in becoming your home away from home! Thank you again for your comments and we can't wait for your next trip.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning hotel offers Southern hospitality, spacious rooms and a great value for guests who want to visit historic Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Located halfway between the two, and close to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our Wilmington hotel is a great value. Amenities include: Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor Pool, Fitness Center, Fridge & Microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing