We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for the buck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent for the buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've been at this hotel for the past year, on several different occasions, never had any problem; the rooms were clean; the breakfast was hot; the bacon was yummy. There is a swimming pool on the back, outside. There is a workout room inside which I used a couple times; It is conveniently (for me) located very close to UNCW and several restaurant chain. Drive a little on Market street towards downtown and you will find other restaurants. Internet is ok; not the fastest but it's enough. I will definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank allextras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear allextras,

Thanks for staying with us on several occasions and taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you've always had a great stay and enjoy the variety of amenities we offer! We are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and await your next stay. Thank you again for your review!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    139
    35
    15
    13
See reviews for
187
112
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We have had a great experience the last four times we have stayed at the Best Western University Inn. We keep coming back to stay because of it's great location and great price. You can easily get to downtown, Wrightsville Beach, and to College Road areas. The free breakfast doesn't hurt either. The rooms are clean and the staff have always been helpful. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank twosip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear twosip,

We are grateful for your loyalty to our Best Western Plus and thank you for taking the time to write a review! I'm delighted you always have a great stay all-around and find our location excellent. Thanks again for your review and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockmart, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were traveling with another couple and booked 2 separate rooms for 3 days. The room was clean as was the hotel. Staff was always friendly and one of the nicer breakfasts I have seen in hotels (free breakfasts) as each day we were there something different was offered verse other places that have the same thing day in/day out. The attendant was always on top of it (cleaning and stocking) the coffee was always fresh with creamer flavors to choose from as I am a big coffee drinker 24/7 LOL.

Room was nice and comfortable slept well, bathroom was roomy and standard of what I expect with toiletries, which were restocked daily if needed (some places I have stayed never restocked daily especially if you got a discount hotel rate in booking).

The only issue we had was on our last night we went to our rooms and our keys would not work (however our belongings were still in our rooms and we had prepaid for three nights). We simply went to the front desk and they immediately fixed our keys to access our rooms ........ check in staff error had punched 2 nights instead of 3.

I Hop is directly next door we had walked there for dinner the night we arrived as we were tried of driving but needed to eat. Over all I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri2south
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Terri2south,

Thank you for writing a comprehensive review of your recent stay - we hope you and your friends had a fun visit. I'm glad to hear you had a comfortable, clean stay and found our staff so friendly and helpful. I do apologize for the inconvenience with your room key, but am happy our staff was able to clear it up quickly. Thanks again for your comments and we'll see you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WI
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I got this hotel off a travel website where the name is not revealed until purchase, of which I have had some great hotels. This hotel was rated a three star of which I think was a bit high for rating. 2.5 stars as listed on TripAdvisor would be more accurate. The hotel was easy to find, and due to arriving late due to flight there was no wait to check in. Upon arrival to hotel, the garbage cans were a bit full and ash tray was overflowing with cigarette butts which I think makes the place feel dirty before even entering. I used the business center and that too, seemed just a little messy, like the staff just had not had time to clean up the lobby. I understand that guest are very messy and many guest refuse to put things back in a neat and orderly fashion. I was assigned to room 101, which is next to the outside entrance where another garbage can was full of cigarettes, so every time I arrived or left the room, I got a view of it. The room itself was clean and smelled fresh. Bed linens seemed to be of nicer quality, and the shower had great water pressure. I feel the highlight of this hotel of which they should be very proud is the staff. The night auditor was very friendly, as was the breakfast associate. She offered to make me a plate up since I was on crutches, which added a nice touch.

As noted in another review, you must have parking validation in your window. I understand having it, but when you are disabled or some travelers are so tired, the last thing one wants to do is go back to vehicle and place the paper in your window.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear TravelWII,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your stay at our hotel. I'm glad to hear you found your guest room clean and comfortable and we really appreciate your kind words for our staff. We do apologize that the cleanliness of some of our common areas fell short of your expectations and our team will discuss your feedback to help improve our service in the future - please reach out to me at the number below if you'd like to discuss your visit further. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you're in Wilmington!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Our stay at the Best Western PLUS University Inn was a very nice experience. The place was very clean, the staff friendly, and they had a nice selection for breakfast. Bed was comfortable. We will stay here again as it is in a convenient location and very affordable. Our 2 night stay cost what one night in some other hotels would cost. I felt like the people working there take pride in their work and do their best to make their guests feel comfortable and wanting to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Denise P,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay - I'm pleased you had a great experience. Providing great service is one of our biggest priorities so it's great to hear you found our staff excellent, as well as that you enjoyed our variety of amenities and complimentary breakfast. Thank you again for your feedback and we can't wait for your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Very nicely decorated room and comfortable bed. Staff on check in and check out were very cordial and pleasant. Breakfast buffet was good, and the attendant kept it refilled and clean the whole time we were there and it was quite busy. Overall a good place to stay and convenient to lots of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARBARA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Barbara H,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Best Western Plus and are pleased you had a clean, comfortable stay and enjoyed the look of your room. It's also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and your kind words for our staff! Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Wilmington.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamburg, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Perfect. Beautiful hotel, excellent service, comfy bed, delicious breakfast, great rates. Great location. Close to the beach and shopping. Easy acess. Cant go wrong. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Great outdoor pool in season which I have spent many days laying next to. Clean, friendly. Wont stay anywhere else when visiting my child at UNCW

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Kathy C,

Thanks so much for your review and kind words - we're happy to have become your go-to destination for visiting UNCW and truly appreciate your recommendation. We are eagerly awaiting your next visit! Thank you again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Address: 5345 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3505 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#6 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#13 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our award winning hotel offers Southern hospitality, spacious rooms and a great value for guests who want to visit historic Wilmington and Wrightsville Beach. Located halfway between the two, and close to the University of North Carolina at Wilmington, our Wilmington hotel is a great value. Amenities include: Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor Pool, Fitness Center, Fridge & Microwave ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper - Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Innkeeper Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing