We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation Stay for UNCW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We rented two rooms for grandson's graduation. We had twin queen rooms that were in the center of the hotel and these were very roomy. Overall the rooms were clean but showed a bit of wear around the edges with loose shower handle and missing baseboard in one spot. Breakfast area was a bit small, but the fair was typical of most with eggs, sausage, bacon, pan cakes, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, etc.

We travel with two small dogs and there is a nice walk area at the rear of the hotel with clean up bags available. Access to the area is from the doors at either end of the hotel. There is a one time $75 per stay fee for pets.

A little surprised that the TV cable was analog and not digital. Wireless Internet speed was over 12 MBS but I had to have the front desk reboot their router when connection began to hang.

Just outside the front of the hotel is a smoking area for guest with nice seating and a gas fireplace here which makes it comfortable on the chilly days.

All in all if we were staying in the area again we would stay here.

Room Tip: Elevator is in the right center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobM28391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, Guest Relations Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thanks BobM28391. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It means a lot to know we were able to accomodate all that you needed during your Son's graduation.
Just an update for our cable and internet: We will soon be upgrading to a new provider with more channels and inhanced internet connection.
Thank you so much for choosing us, and we look forward to the next time you make it to the Towneplace Suites.

Guest Service Manager
Fidel Lucero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were in Wilmington for a pleasure vacation & absolutely loved the TownePlace. The TownePlace is conveniently located to all major roads. We may be making another trip to Wilmington & will definitely stay here. The front desk staff were absolutely wonderful. They always gave great directions & asked how our stay was going. Due to the impending snow/ice storm heading up the I-95 corridor, we had to leave a day early to head back to Long Island, NY. Since we booked through Hotels.com, Lisa went over & beyond to help get a refund of one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAmy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello JohnAmy2014, Thank you for stay here with us and for taking the time to provide such a great review. We're please to hear you enjoyed your stay and that Lisa was able to assist you upon checkout. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The front desk staff and manager went two extra miles to make me comfortable. Three thumbs up! Without any reservations (get the pun here?) I will book a room at this hotel when I travel to Wilmington again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello Carlnack, Thank you for your kind words regarding our team member. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here with us..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews. We've stayed in Marriott hotels before and love them but I wouldn't chose TownePlace Suites again. The facilities in the room were good and it had a very good sized TV. However, it was all very cramped and the finish and decor in the rooms was scruffy. It was minor things, like the tap in the bathtub was really loose and the edging round the flooring wasn't finished properly and I found the bed really uncomfortable.

Reception/lobby area was very small but reception were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast area was tiny and whilst there was plenty of food, the choice and quality wasn't great and because the area was small, it was a fight to get to it. I felt it too was scruffy and not very clean. I didn't even bother with breakfast on our second day.

The pool and hot tub were good but the heating had broken on the pool so it was too cold to swim in. This was just unfortunate.

So if you know what you're getting and get this hotel for a good price then it's fine but I think for the price we paid, we could have enjoyed a more up market hotel with better attention to detail.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetsplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello janetsplanet,

Thank you for staying here with us at the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Wilmington. I am sorry to learn the hotel was not up to your expectations. I greatly appreciate your kind words regarding our team members and your constructive feedback regarding the hotel.

Sincerely,

Greg Grigsby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I have stayed here with our pets at least six times. The last three times, it has been the exact same room - which, if you have pets - has been great!! Our dogs feel right at home, and know they are "on vacation" and feel right at home.

The staff is excellent - as Marriott Platinum members, we are pretty low maintenance, and just ask for our own towels and supplies, with no hassle or questions - because they know we have pets in the room.

This hotel has a full kitchen, with a full size fridge - excellent for the holidays or longer trips. The hot tub and pool and nice, and the breakfast has been upgraded to more hot items like eggs and bacon, sausage or turkey bacon.

I have never had any issues with other pets, or excessive noise. Just a very pleasant experience every time.

AND we are only a couple miles from the beach and very close to UNCW.

We will be back....again....and....again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Greetings Lori W,

Thank you for this wonderful review of both our hotel and team. We're very happy that we have become your choice here in Wilmington. We look forward to seeing all of you again on your next trip.

Warmest Regards,

Greg Grigsby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Good location for visiting both the beaches and downtown Wilmington. Reasonably sized room with surprisingly well stocked full kitchen, very useful desk and seating. Comfortable and quiet even on the first floor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean and well stocked exercise room, pool and jacuzzi. Ample hot breakfast buffet. Room & bathroom clean and well appointed with one small disappointment -- bathtub was somewhat worn and sofa fabric soiled. All in all a really good deal, especially if you're traveling with a pet. We would definitely return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello Lori C,

Thank you for staying here with us here in Wilmington. We appreciate your review of your stay and you kind words regarding the hotel. I'm please to tell you that we are currently working to refresh both our tubs and sofas. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Grigsby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We decided to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary in Wilmington last weekend. We were very pleased with our stay at Towne Place Suites by Marriot Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach. The staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the area. We loved the giant area map on the wall. The decor was great like a big city boutique hotel. The pool and hot tub were nice and the beds were so comfortable we actually checked to see the brand of mattress because we'd like to get one like it. It was cool out but we had so many choices of things to do that we didn't mind at all we were in close proximity to the River Walk in Downtown Wilmington and to Wrightsville Beach as well. We got to walk along the beach and the pier and enjoy the ocean and the sunshine. The suites were great, they had fully stocked kitchen's with full size refrigerators and a stove. We will be back. Great weekend!

Room Tip: We chose the 4th floor and got a bit of a view and a nice stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg G, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Hello T R,

I am please to hear that we played a positive role in your stay here in Wilmington, and congratulations on 20 years to you and your wife. Thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Greg Grigsby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Address: 305 Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1813
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £66 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing