We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My family stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room was not ready when we arrived, which was 30 minutes before check-in time. Once we got to our suite (a 2 queen suite), we weren't sure it was actually ready then, either. There was a pile of sand on the floor near one of the beds, there were no washcloths, a dirty mirror above the sink, and there was no clock. It was not a good first impression. A very nice member of housekeeping found a clock for our room, and we did not complain about the rest.
The suite was quite big for the price, and there was plenty of storage in the form of shelves, drawers, and closet space. The desk area was nice. The kitchen was small but functional. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and 2-burner stove, but no oven. The toilet and tub/shower are separate from the sink. The room with the toilet and tub is very small and dimly lit. Considering there were many families at the hotel, our room was pretty quiet at night.
The pool is the tiniest one we've ever seen! The water was very cloudy, which concerned us. Our child enjoyed swimming in it, though. The breakfast area was also incredibly small. There were not many choices for food, and it seemed to be poorly laid-out for the number of people that used it. We also used the washer and dryer, which were $2 each.
The hotel is very close to Wrightsville Beach, and it is also easy to get downtown from there. We have mixed feelings about whether we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

Marriott's of any kind have been our choice for years. This hotel did not disappoint except for one aspect. First, the good. Staff was friendly and attentive, and the overall view of the slightly aging hotel was good. The beds were excellent giving us the best sleep in months. I felt swallowed up in a giant marshmallow, but once settled, the comfort was tops. Room size, wireless, shower amenities were all good. The snack shop was well stocked with good items, even wine could be had at any hour. The free breakfast was a slight cut above most with quality baked goods, yogurt, some fruit, and the ever present waffle machine. We did not use the pool, nor did many others from what I noticed, but it was quite small. Smaller than most home pools. The biggest drawback, a turnoff really, was the carpeting. It was filthy, not only in the lobby and halls, but in the rooms. Spots everywhere and then general ground in grime. If a hotel was going to have carpeting, then they have to commit to cleaning it frequently. It was a jarring to see a nice lobby or room but then to see dirty carpeting and spots of unknown origin. We kept our shoes on mostly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWriter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Excellent choice for a $100 hotel. The Suite we were in was huge, with 2 queen beds, flat TV, a desk for work, a stove, a large fridge, & a micro-wave. More than one could expect for a $100 Suite.

Everything was super-clean. There was hardwood floor in the bathroom, and carpet everywhere else in the room. The furnitures were kind of IKEA-style and they looked nice.

Wi-Fi was working OK, A/C was already started as we got inside the room, and there was a bath in the bathroom (very important to us as we prefer by far to take baths rather than showers)...

It could be a bit noisy at times, though, since it was not very well soundproofed, but it didn't disturb our sleep at all.

The staff was very polite, there was also a pool, an exercice room with barbells, and everything usually found in a great hotel.

There was a light breakfast included in the morning, and the reception area was also very nice and clean, with a map of some POI next to the breakfast area. I'd go there again anytime!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stayed during a busy night so weren't able to check in early. Room hadn't been cleaned very well and the towels may have not been fresh. But it was no biggie because we were stil getting our money's worth. The place is new and looks like it, but it also looks like it hasn't been taken care of. For the AAA rate of 116 though you can't really beat it for the decent location.

If traveling during vacation time, expect kids. Internet was slow and breakfast about par for what you pay. I'd go again but would also consider paying an extra Andrew Jackson to stay at the Hilton Garden down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

We just stayed here with our two young boys and it was great. Nice to have brkt included. Short drive to Wrightsville beach and historic downtown. Rooms are clean and well stocked. Great for cooking in and not always having to eat out. Pool is small, but okay. All the space you need.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FannyNewfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I stayed here 3 nights for a business trip and really enjoyed my stay. I loved the fact the rooms were set up like mini apartments. I did not feel like I was staying in a hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and eager to help. I will definitely stay here again when returning to the area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mistyb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed to go to the beach and check out Wilmington attractions. The hotel front desk staff was very helpful with restaurant and tour recommendations; very friendly. The free breakfast was nice and very convenient. The rooms were large and since the hotel is new, very clean and nicely decorated. The laundry room came in handy for wet, sandy towels and clothes! I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The only drawback was the indoor pool, which was quite small...but we didn't use it anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3kids1pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach

Address: 305 Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1813
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#10 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#15 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £67 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing