We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The vegetarian choices were nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indochine

Indochine
Ranked #5 of 666 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“The vegetarian choices were nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I spotted this place while my husband and I were driving around a bit lost, and even though it wasn't open at the time, it looked intriguing, so we decided to check it out later that night. The place gets really packed in the evenings, so we had to wait a bit for a table, but that was fine. They seated us on the rather expansive patio - a seat inside would have been a much longer wait, but it was a relatively cool night out so we were fine with outside. The service was a bit on the slow side, but that was not shocking considering how busy the restaurant was. I got a vegetable crepe and my husband got some vegetarian tofu dish. My food was totally bland and his was nothing to write home about either. I guess the vegetarian entrees on the menu are more of an afterthought, because this place never would have gotten rated so high based on what we ate that night. The thai iced tea was pretty good though -- not sickeningly sweet like at most places.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bourgeois_Yuppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    748
    216
    66
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We always make a visit for dinner at IndoChine but this weekend we decided to get a takeout and it did not disappoint. We both had Jungle Curry with chicken and it was so tasty. Really good flavor and leftovers tasted great for lunch too!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

great food. great atmosphere. highly recommend. very busy so go early

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 5Northcarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Wow, no wonder we had a hard time getting a parking place! This place is great! Loved the food and plating. One night in Bangkok makes you want 2 nights .....yummy coconut cake.I love Thai food and was very satisfied! Will return

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loveitalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the food, service, and decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and I visited for lunch. We loved everything. It was delicious and affordable. The restaurant was decorated beautifully. The staff was very helpful and always smiling. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jodie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indochine also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing