We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting museum; different from the ordinary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Fear Museum

Cape Fear Museum
Ranked #12 of 108 things to do in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Exploring the history, science and cultures of the Lower Cape Fear region. Founded in 1898. Closed Mondays September - May.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An interesting museum; different from the ordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This museum is good about changing & updating it's exhibits. There is a fair amount of history since Wilmington was (& still is) a port city. That brought lots of local color & stories to our history.

Beyond that, there are exhibits that change so if you haven't been through the museum in a year or more, chances are you will find many new exhibits.

The staff is nice & the museum is easy to navigate. Free off-street parking, next to the building.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    64
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stumbled across the museum and decided to stop in. They were very reasonably priced for a museum this size! It was very interactive with lots to learn about Wilmington.
We were surprised that they didn't really focus on the film history in Wilmington. I would have thought that was a bigger part of the city.
The only thing we were sad about is that we wanted to shop in the gift shop and it closed an hour before the museum closed. The gentleman at the desk didn't tell us this when we arrived or we would have gone there first!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank statsgirlewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
369 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I visited this museum with my class this fall. I wasn't sure what to expect, being new to the area, but was pleasantly surprised. The docents were knowledgeable and friendly. The exhibits were interactive and interesting for the students. It was a great visit! I would recommend it to families.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Small southern museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Very nicely done kind of surprised it was so nice. Very quaint and would definitely go back. Good parking and nice attendants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank smsAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We went during the first weekend if the month and all guests were free! I went with my 5 year old and even he had fun! We loved how hands on everything was! This is not a stuffy place, they encourage learning and allow you to touch the exhibits! All the staff was friendly and helpful! They also have special limited time exhibits and we will most defiantly be going back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hereinthemeantime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Fear Museum also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cape Fear Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing