We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family vacationing in Wrightsville Beach”
Review of Boca Bay

Boca Bay
Ranked #34 of 686 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for family vacationing in Wrightsville Beach”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Exceeded expectations! Accomodated our family of 12 with a reservation and the patio worked very well for us (while it was next to the road, noise was low thanks for decorative wall). We felt price was reasonable compared to other places that tourists frequent, the food was very good value and service was great. Less than 5 minutes from Wrightsville Beach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    36
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elon, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Try the Sushi”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Wilmington area has some great restaurants and we usually go to Indochine for sushi, but we stopped here and I ordered the Spicy Tuna and Kamehameha Rolls. The Kamehameha roll was a spicy tuna with mango and a sweet and sour sauce. Both were very good and worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Wish I could give it 3 1/2 stars. The food is good, pricey and well prepared. But there is little elegance. Waiters fly everywhere with little personal interaction. The place is in constant motion and needs a Valium. Waiters should stop for a moment to say Hey! The bar is even more frantic. I've been here a dozen times and never understood what I didn't like about it: there is zero elegance. At $24 an entree I deserve more than a roadhouse atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Reliable Choice”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Boca Bay has been a beach standard in Wilmington for many years. The food and atmosphere keep it a popular choice. It is dependent on seasonal help, however, so the service can be spotty. It has a lively bar, but the dining area (aside from outdoor) is relatively quiet, which is nice if you are looking to actually talk to your dinner companions. The food is good..order the paella if you have time to wait for it. The calamari is a great choice for an appetizer, or paired with a salad, a nice light dinner. Grilled shrimp with fried green tomates and corn salsa was excellent! Decent wine list. Parking is tight, but they have a valet service (no charge...and the boys hustle to get your car back to you quickly).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirl30iw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sorry we fell for the good reviews....”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

well I tried to plan a great Dads Day brunch, and was very disappointed .I had made reservation's well in advance and was surprised that we were sat outside on a hot and humid day with no choice to sit inside. We were given water with meled ice cubes and the girl looked shocked when I asked for cup of ice. There is no beverage provided for $24.95 pp. The food was fair they kept running out of things, and had to wait for them to be filled up. There was a lot of food on the floor as well as the outdoor deck, I saw no one cleaning up after people. Will not be going back, noisy, and messy with view of road, not my idea of a nice brunch.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rangerswife02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boca Bay also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Boca Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing