We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to share with family”
Review of Little Dipper

Little Dipper
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Dipper is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 685 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to share with family”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great place to finish a day of sightseeing in Wilmington and enjoy some fondue. We had already dined but wanted to try some fondue, so they brought us a different menu that had some separate fondue pots that were great for tasting some fondue both cheese and chocolate. Great service and great food made for a wonderful experience in Wilmington.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rortiz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    52
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New experience for us !”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Excellent food and selection, waiter was very helpful being our first fondue in years. Use to have a fondue pot many years ago. Loved the atmosphere and the price was not bad for the selection for two. Recommend reservations . Will return again next time in Wilmington and tell my friends!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't compare it to Melting Pot!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We made that mistake and they took offense to it, jokingly. We loved our waiter. He was so much fun and made our little dipper experience even better. The food was amazing. The bar area is also really nice.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food but needs to overhaul reservation process”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We dined here with four kids 10 and younger, two adults. The food was very good and the service was also good. Our complaint, however, was with the reservation process. We called around noon to make a reservation for 5 p.m., when the restaurant would be open for dinner. We were told no reservations were available because they were fully booked, but we were welcome to take our chances and try sitting outside on the deck. We took a chance, showed up at 4:55 and did indeed get seated on the patio. We walked through a completely empty restaurant, with plenty of seating available to get to the deck. We left a little over an hour later, after enjoying our meal, and the same tables were entirely empty when we left. The restaurant was perhaps 20 percent full.

When I called the hostess on this and pointed out that there were plenty of seats indoors, she apologized for the inconvenience but again reiterated that they were completely booked. This made no sense and I told her so. If they'd had full reservations at 5 p.m., and the reservation didn't show up by 5:10, they could easily have moved us from the hot, sunny deck back inside to a nice, comfy air-conditioned table. Instead, they left the table sit empty and us remain on the less than comfortable deck.

They need to revise how they handle reservations and no-shows. At least I home the issue is mismanagement and not just that they didn't want four kids in their upscale restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderingCarolinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique Experience!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I had never been to a fondue restaurant so I was very intrigued by it. We did a four course meal. Our server was very nice but we had to ask for drinks beside water. Other than that she was very attentive. We were seated in a private booth with a small fireplace. It was very romantic. We did the tradition Swiss for the cheese fondue. I'm not a huge fan of Swiss cheese but it was still enjoyable. They make everything for you at the table. After the cheese we had salads. I didn't eat much of the salad, I came for the fondue! We kept with the traditional and went with the white Merlot and vegetables for our meats. The broth took quite a few minutes to get up to temperature so everything was coming out under cooked. It didn't seem like it at first but they give you a lot of food! We somehow managed to make room for dessert and got the turtle fondue with caramel, chocolate and pecans. It was delicious! We also got the classic plate. We thought this place would be more up scale because it had reservations but we were the most formal people in the place. I wouldn't wear frayed jean shorts and a tank top but you don't need to get dressed to the nines for this. High recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhGeeItsJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Dipper also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Little Dipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing