We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home-but better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 17 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home-but better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Margi is a gracious hostess and Doug is a marvelous cook - together they create a relaxed ambiance to make you feel like welcome friends in their beautiful home. There are lots of nice little extra touches such as snacks and drinks available on each floor, a large assortment of books and magazines to browse through, and intimate seating areas where you can curl up and relax. They are also happy to offer advice on what is happening around the area, and make recommendations to suit your interests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seleora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
155
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I travel on business occasionally to the Wilmington area, and find the Worth House extremely comfortable, clean and accommodating. As a single woman, I appreciate the security of a family owned and run B&B, and also appreciate the privacy to come and go and work as needed. Breakfast is wonderful, and Margi and Doug go out of their way to make sure my stays are always enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

Although the reviews we read gave glowing reviews we should have known better when the official website made an issue of one of the best rooms having a 19" flat screen TV!
We stayed for one night on our way through Wilmington on a recent road trip. The reception which followed our arrival late afternoon was somewhat brusk and did not improve when we told the owner that we may not be staying for breakfast the following morning. A demand that we let him know before the next day if we did indeed not need breakfast was our fist indication of what was to come.
After being shown the room (one of their best) which required a lot of juggling with the key in the lock we found a room decorated with what was supposed to be Victorian "Knick Knacks" and little in the way of home comforts. Although WiFi was available in the room that was the only concession to guest comfort we could find. The bed antique and old was small, totally uncomfortable (wooden planks would have been more comfortable) and sounded as though it was about to collapse with bangs and creaks at every turn. The fireplace was a cold focus point for a November evening and even the blinds and drapes were showing a great deal of wear and age. The room fronting on a main road was noisy most of the night a problem easily corrected with internal double glazing!
All in all the play on "An Old Victorian House" is used to excuse a lack of comforts and amenities. Having stayed in Hotels, Inns and Houses that predate this establishment by in some cases hundreds of years, we know what can be provided for guest comfort without spoiling the character of the place.

Room Tip: Find another guest house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Belgarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthouse, Owner at C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you so much for your sharp observations. However, we would rather have appreciated your comments or suggestions privately to give us a chance to respond and/or take care of your concerns.

We have planned to replace the queen bed with a king in its place as we know kings are preferred but a queen bed is not considered small. We will make sure the new bed is comfortable. We plan to install storm windows as occasionally there is traffic noise and certainly could have moved you to a different room if you had concerns.

We ask about breakfast because we do not like to waste or throw out any food and like to know before morning for planning purposes. We are sorry you mistook this request as brusk.

We continue to look for ways to improve our guest experience and appreciate guest input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

Had a wonderful time at Worth House. Breakfast is delicious, rooms were full of character, and Doug and Margi are excellent hosts. Restaurants within close walking distance. Represents all that is great about a B&B. If you are in Wilmington, NC, stay here for a great B&B experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Doug and Margi were wonderful hosts. We stayed during Hurrican Irene and could not have been made more comfortable. The weather outside was frightful, but inside was cozy and delightful. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and appointed with all of the expected details. Some folks might miss having a TV in their room, but for us, it added to the sense of peace and escape. Breakfast was great. The service was top-tier. The house itself has been gorgeously restored and the location in Wilmington would be tough to beat. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastwickFarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supply, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Even though I arrived late (after 9PM), Doug was very gracious and accommodating. I stayed in a large room on the second floor which was nice, but there was no TV in the room and the bed was very hard. Brewed coffee was only available at breakfast - no Keurig. The location was excellent - very close to the waterfront and all it's shops and restaurants. The experience was OK, but I will search out a different B&B if I come to Wilmington again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room in the back as the rooms in the front are next to a main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8bassets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

My stay at the CW Worth House was a great balance between the convenience of the location for work and the wonderful ambiance of the place afterwards. Doug and Margi were wonderful, accommodating hosts; the house was wonderful; and the food: out of this world. Thanx! I'll be back...

Room Tip: I had the large, front bedroom which had lots of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
0.7 mi away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 44 in Wilmington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#27 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.3 mi away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 44 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast

Property: C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 412 S 3rd St, Wilmington, NC 28401-5102
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast is a circa 1893 Victorian mansion with 7 guest rooms all with a private bathroom, sitting area and some have televisions. A full gourmet breakfast is served each morning in the dining room with your fellow travelers. It is an easy three block walk to the river front along the Cape Fear River where fine dining, shopping and tours are available. Beautiful beaches are a short drive. Your hosts will share their favorite places to eat and things to do. Check out our reviews! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your C.W. Worth House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c. w. Worth House Hotel Wilmington
c. w. Worth House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing