We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have been using the Hampton Inns for quite some time now and we find them to be consistent
all the time from the registration to the departure. This Inn's staff was exceptional and a young man named Patrick was great( polite,courteous and helpful ). The location was ideal for various
activities.

Room Tip: Just ask for your particular needs..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    123
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
205
111
38
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We travel quite a bit and always look forward to visiting the Hampton Inns. I say consistent because we always receive the best service. At the Wilmington Inn Patrick was exceptional and the Inn itself was in a convenient location for various activities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

My husband & I stay at this Inn every time we visit Wilmington and are never disappointed. Check-in & check-out is speedy, rooms are extremely clean, staff so very kind & helpful, delicious breakfast, great location, and love that fashionable, comfortable lobby! We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Westcarolinagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I hosted my daughter's 16th birthday party here and I feel compelled to say that we had an AWESOME experience. We utilized one of the conference rooms (we had access to the adjoining terrace but it was a little chilly that night) and the atmosphere, food, service was perfect. We were allowed to decorate/set up the day before and staff joined in to help which alleviated some of my stress. A few decorations fell overnight but were fixed before we got there on the evening of the party. The staff were very attentive to our needs and requests; they were helpful, friendly and supportive. We partied until midnight and the support staff stayed on the periphery, checked in periodically to make sure we had everything we needed and attended to our needs when requested. Some family and friends stayed at the hotel and they gushed about the great service as well. I would DEFINITELY recommend this venue for a social event.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_J302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hampton Inns are by far the best bet for your money! They are clean, efficient and the amenities are amazing! Coffee and hot chocolate available any time. And a great breakfast!! I would always choose Hampton Inns if possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 495janetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

As a frequent business traveler to the Wilmington NC area, the Hampton Inn University Area has continuously provided my colleges and me with outstanding service. The hotel offers a lot of amenities of a full service hotel at a significant savings and with a great location between Wrightsville beach and downtown and next to the UNCW, you will be hard pressed to find a better deal in the Wilmington area. The front desk staff provides a quick and effortless check in and has a uniquely wilmington dinner recommendation whenever you need some recommendations. There is a manager reception hosted by an always welcoming and entertaining host named Catherine who provides complementary beer and wine along with appetizer type foods every Tuesday and Thursday. The hotel management (Melanie, Laura, and Jenn) have always been accommodating and make themselves available to assist however they can. The Hampton Inn University Area hotel has been a great find and as a frequent business traveler offers me a home away from home.

Room Tip: Even rooms face the back and odd numbers face the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is a notch about the rest in the Wilmington market. The staff is always friendly, helpful and willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay the best. I have been staying at this location month after month for my business travel and have never had a bad experience. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here for business or leisure. Close to restaurants and not to far from Wrightsville Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
2.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Property: Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing