We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hampton Inn in Wilmington”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Hampton Inn in Wilmington”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Property is immaculate, recently updated. Location is excellent, on Main drag to Wrightsville Beach and less then a mile to UNCW. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance in the adjacent shopping center. Couldn't ask for a better setup!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Our entire team strives daily to serve our guests and keep the hotel as clean and as inviting as it was on opening day. I am so pleased that you were happy with your stay, and that you have titled us as "Best Hampton In Wilmington." We love our location and are glad that you enjoyed it too. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    134
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
221
115
38
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great place. Comfy beds. Very nice and pleasant service. Our only complaint was that the thermostat in the room was a little funky. We set the temperature for higher than the a.c. was set at when we got in, and that actually triggered the heat to come on... Not what we wanted... We just got used to it and kept the a.c. low (at the temp it was when we got there) and we were fine. Just a little colder than we wanted to be. That was our only complaint. This place is great!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acujules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are so happy you chose our hotel for your recent stay in Wilmington. Thanks for your business, and we appreciate the feedback. I will be certain to pass along the positive comments about our "nice and pleasant service," we try to treat each guest as a part of our family with authentic and genuine hospitality. I apologize for the disappointment in your thermostat, but am glad to know that you were able to enjoy your room despite the small issue. Thank you again for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff at this hotel go above and beyond in doing anything/everything helpful that you could possibly need. They are always pleasant, they greet you everytime that you walk into the hotel, always have fresh coffee in the lobby around the clock. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
It feels great to receive such high compliements about our staff! Thank you so much for taking the time to highlight our team who works so hard to exceed the expecations of every guest. I are extremely appreciative of the feedback, and ecstatic our team was able to "wow" you as we do our absolute best to be as welcoming and inviting as we possibly can. We are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for during my niece's graduation from UNC- Wilmington. Great location close to campus but not too far from the airport (a $14.00 cab ride). Clean, friendly, nice breakfast. I would definitely stay here again- bravo!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikithedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Way to go team members. You truly know the meaning of hospitality. If you are ever heading to Wilmington / Wrightsville Beach for any reason, this is a definite must. I can not say thank you enough to everyone from management on down. Even the small issue was resolved above and beyond our wildest imagination. Thanks again and we will see you soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I would stay in a Hampton Inn anywhere based on my excellent experience at the Wilmington-University Inn. The breakfast alone was excellent and saved us significant dollars. Computers were available whenever we wanted one with no waiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank ERNIEK076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel easily ranks in the top 5 facilities which we have used in the past 10 years. Their attention to detail, courtesy to guests and excellent breakfast and heavy Hors d'oeuvres in the evening make even the most tired curmudgeon smile.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Property: Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#3 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing