We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honesty, Integrity, and Reliability”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The staff at the Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
124 Old Eastwood Road, Wilmington, is cordial and gracious to guests, going far beyond any expectations by providing printed maps for navigating a number of sites including Wrightsville Beach and downtown Wilmington. Each member of the staff seems to specialize in consideration of guest needs. Particularly to be commended is Audelia of the housekeeping staff, who turned in a very valuable gold necklace she found in the room where I by mistake left it on a shelf in the bathroom. She very unselfishly turned this in, and from that point, we received a call from Aaron who had traced us by room number and mobile phone. He explained that Express UPS would pick it up from the hotel and contact us for detailed mailing instructions. This occurred exactly as Aaron explained, Extra insurance was available and the necklace arrived the next afternoon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I'm so glad we were able to return your lost items!! We have worked hard to keep our lost and found procedure effective and fluid, and it is music to our ears to hear first hand that it is working. Thank you for staying with us, we can't wait to succeed your expectations next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel and the staff are awesome! Experience it for yourself! You don't have to look any further. The breakfast has a large selection of items, and everything is fresh and hot. The coffee in the lobby is alway fresh and hot, no matter what time of the night or day you decided to get a cup. I really liked that with this hotel. I need my coffee!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thanks for the wonderful compliments! We are very flattered and happy to know that our hard work pays off for our guests. We appreciate your business and are grateful that you took the time to write this review for us. I hope to see you again soon; we'll have the coffee hot and ready for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had a excellent experience Stephen and Jenna are to be commended for great customer service and their smile I would and I will be staying here next year when I come for the graduation they made our experience worth the drive from the time of check in from the time of check out with workers like that they will keep customers coming back. Dr.Eric Holmes

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Eric H,

What great feedback! Thank you for staying with us! Our staff takes such pride in serving the guests, and Stephen and Jenna will be very appreciate of your positive comments. I appreciate your business and we can't wait to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Property is immaculate, recently updated. Location is excellent, on Main drag to Wrightsville Beach and less then a mile to UNCW. Numerous restaurants are within walking distance in the adjacent shopping center. Couldn't ask for a better setup!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you so much for your positive feedback! Our entire team strives daily to serve our guests and keep the hotel as clean and as inviting as it was on opening day. I am so pleased that you were happy with your stay, and that you have titled us as "Best Hampton In Wilmington." We love our location and are glad that you enjoyed it too. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Great place. Comfy beds. Very nice and pleasant service. Our only complaint was that the thermostat in the room was a little funky. We set the temperature for higher than the a.c. was set at when we got in, and that actually triggered the heat to come on... Not what we wanted... We just got used to it and kept the a.c. low (at the temp it was when we got there) and we were fine. Just a little colder than we wanted to be. That was our only complaint. This place is great!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank acujules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We are so happy you chose our hotel for your recent stay in Wilmington. Thanks for your business, and we appreciate the feedback. I will be certain to pass along the positive comments about our "nice and pleasant service," we try to treat each guest as a part of our family with authentic and genuine hospitality. I apologize for the disappointment in your thermostat, but am glad to know that you were able to enjoy your room despite the small issue. Thank you again for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The staff at this hotel go above and beyond in doing anything/everything helpful that you could possibly need. They are always pleasant, they greet you everytime that you walk into the hotel, always have fresh coffee in the lobby around the clock. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura U, Manager at Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

It feels great to receive such high compliements about our staff! Thank you so much for taking the time to highlight our team who works so hard to exceed the expecations of every guest. I are extremely appreciative of the feedback, and ecstatic our team was able to "wow" you as we do our absolute best to be as welcoming and inviting as we possibly can. We are looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for during my niece's graduation from UNC- Wilmington. Great location close to campus but not too far from the airport (a $14.00 cab ride). Clean, friendly, nice breakfast. I would definitely stay here again- bravo!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikithedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wilmington Medical Park
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wilmington Mayfaire Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range: £67 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing