We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service and clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great customer service and clean hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2010

When you combine both customer service and cleanliness you get the Hampton Inn at the College. Short drive to Wrightsville beach, shopping and restaurants! Just a great place to stay a night!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcriscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    126
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
209
112
38
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was beautiful. It is not a beach hotel, but it is very convenient to the beaches near Wilmington. Unless you require a beach hotel and its associated outrageous pricing, this hotel is a great choice. The staff was friendly and helpful; breakfast was as expected for a Hampton. The breakfast area is a bit crowded when the hotel is full, and it is located too close to the front door.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I've stayed here numerous times and always leave very pleased. The hotel has a very spacious lobby, great staff, and very good sized rooms. The hotel is always sparkling clean and the internet here is very good. Great business center that has all you need when you are on the road. Located close to plenty of great restaurants. Also have a great managers reception during the week with really good food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2010

I stayed at this hotel while in town on business. It looks like a new hotel and it was in a very convenient location to shopping and food with good access to the historic district. The beds were comfortable and tv new. Amenities were good and it was a very nice hotel for traveling. I saw a lot of families here that looked like they were on vacation. The only downside is that the walls are really thin, so I was annoyed by my next door neighbor who kept their tv on late and could easily be heard through the wall as they were having a conversation in their room. I kept the fan on in the room on the a/c and that drowned out the noise. If I needed to stay in the area again I would come back here.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank humdinger0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, NC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We were exceptionally pleased with the hospitality as well as convenience of this hotel.
It was close to downtown, the beaches, as well as shopping and a multitude of restaurants.
Breakfast offered something for everyone, warm and cold and the rooms are beautiful.
They're clean and spacious and more importantly, the beds are tremendously comfortable.
Wireless internet is available at no cost, but for those who do not want to carry or are unable to carry their own laptop, complimentary internet access is available in their business center.
There are plenty of areas for family members to gather and the pool area and terrace had easy access for those with disabilities as did the rest of the hotel. We traveled with an elderly family member in a wheelchair.
Care for a beer or small glass of wine? The front desk has these for purchase in their small kiosk behind the desk.
We highly recommend this hotel for all of these reasons as well as a staff that stands above so many hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My husband and I stayed at here for the weekend. The staff at the front desk were wonderful. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The location is great. Easy access to downtown and to Wrightsville Beach. We will definately stay here again when we are in Wilmington.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We stayed at this hotel per the #1 rating it received on this website. It lived up to its rating. We traveled from Charlotte with our daughter to visit UNC-Wilmington. Good location for what we were there for. The hotel was only a 1.6 miles from the campus. It's also about 10 minutes to the beach, 5-10 minutes to downtown. Very clean, bright, new looking. Comfortable beds with down alternative comforters with duvet covers. 32" flat screen was a pleasant suprise. Room came with micro fridge, Cuisinart coffee maker, and microwave. Desk area was sufficient. Free wireless internet. Stocked continental breakfast. Only thing that we would have liked that wasnt available was a dvd player. We asked the front desk to borrow one and we were told they were still negotiating with Time Warner and hadnt gotten the dvd players yet. (not sure what the relation btwn them is...?) We would stay there again for sure. But if we were there for vacation, we would have stayed somewhere closer proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj1smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Wilmington
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station

Property: Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station
Address: 124 Old Eastwood Rd, Wilmington, NC 28403-1861
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wilmington
#4 Business Hotel in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wilmington-University Area/Smith Creek Station Hotel Wilmington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing